Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity 20140501-PE

Preservation and Access Education and Training

National Endowment for the Humanities

At a glance

Preservation and Access Education and Training is a closed federal grant opportunity from the National Endowment for the Humanities. The application deadline was May 1, 2014. Individual awards are listed as $1 – $350K. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, public colleges & universities and 4 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 45.149 (Promotion of the Humanities Division of Preservation and Access).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Feb 25, 2014Posted
  2. May 1, 2014Application deadline
Posted
Feb 25, 2014
Close date
May 1, 2014
Award floor
$1
Award ceiling
$350,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Preservation and Access Education and Training program is central to NEH¿s efforts to preserve and establish access to cultural heritage collections. Thousands of libraries, archives, museums, and historical organizations across the country maintain important collections of books and manuscripts, photographs, sound recordings and moving images, archaeological and ethnographic artifacts, art and material culture collections, electronic records, and digital objects. The challenge of preserving and making accessible such large and diverse holdings is enormous, and the need for knowledgeable staff is significant and ongoing.

Preservation and Access Education and Training grants are awarded to organizations that offer national or regional (multistate) education and training programs. Grants aim to help the staff of cultural institutions, large and small, obtain the knowledge and skills needed to serve as effective stewards of humanities collections. Grants also support educational programs that prepare the next generation of conservators and preservation professionals, as well as projects that introduce the staff of cultural institutions to new information and advances in preservation and access practices.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 45.149

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$2.76M
FY25$2.9K
FY26$5.69M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 45.149. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

National Endowment for the Humanities
preservation@neh.gov
202-606-8401

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Preservation and Access Education and Training”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Preservation and Access Education and Training”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $1 – $350k.

How do I apply for “Preservation and Access Education and Training”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity 20140501-PE), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 45.037

Collections Stewardship

National Endowment for the Humanities
Award range
$50K – $500K
Closes
Dec 15, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 5 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday
OpenALN 45.039

Landmarks of History and Culture and Summer Institutes

National Endowment for the Humanities
Award range
$1 – $460K
Closes
Dec 9, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 5 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday
OpenALN 45.042

National Digital Newspaper Program

National Endowment for the Humanities
Award range
$1 – $325K
Closes
Jan 13, 2027
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 5 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday