Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity 20160414-HB

Awards for Faculty

National Endowment for the Humanities

At a glance

Awards for Faculty is a closed federal grant opportunity from the National Endowment for the Humanities. The application deadline was April 14, 2016. Individual awards are listed as $8.4K – $50.4K. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 45.160 (Promotion of the Humanities Fellowships and Stipends).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Feb 17, 2016Posted
  2. Apr 14, 2016Application deadline
Posted
Feb 17, 2016
Close date
Apr 14, 2016
Award floor
$8,400
Award ceiling
$50,400
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

The only eligible applicants are individuals who teach at, serve on the staff of, or have retired from officially designated Hispanic-Serving Institutions, Historically Black Colleges and Universities, or Tribal Colleges and Universities.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This program supports individual faculty or staff members at Hispanic-Serving Institutions, Historically Black Colleges and Universities, and Tribal Colleges and Universities who pursue research of value to humanities scholars, students, or general audiences. Awards are designed to be flexible, allowing applicants to define the audience, type of research, award periods, and administrative arrangements that best fit their projects.

Awards can be used for a wide range of projects that are based on humanities research. Eligible projects include pursuing research in primary and secondary materials and producing articles, monographs, books, digital materials, archaeological site reports, translations, editions, or other scholarly resources. Activities might also include conducting basic research leading to the improvement of an existing undergraduate course or conducting basic research related to the goals and interests of the institution or community.

Common to all applications—regardless of their outcome—must be humanities research supporting the goals of the project.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 45.160

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$4.96M
FY25$6.21M
FY26$1.91M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 45.160. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

National Endowment for the Humanities
FacultyAwards@neh.gov
202-606-8401

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Awards for Faculty”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Awards for Faculty”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $8.4k – $50.4k.

How do I apply for “Awards for Faculty”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity 20160414-HB), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 45.037

Collections Stewardship

National Endowment for the Humanities
Award range
$50K – $500K
Closes
Dec 15, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 5 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 45.042

National Digital Newspaper Program

National Endowment for the Humanities
Award range
$1 – $325K
Closes
Jan 13, 2027
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 5 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today