Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention and Surveillance of Blood Lead Levels in Children
Centers for Disease Control - NCEH · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention and Surveillance of Blood Lead Levels in Children is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Centers for Disease Control - NCEH (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was November 9, 2021. Individual awards are listed as $150K – $850K, with about 61 awards expected and $100M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments and federally recognized tribal governments. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.197 (Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Projects, State and Local Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention and Surveillance of Blood Lead Levels in Children).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Feb 24, 2021Posted
- Nov 9, 2021Application deadline
- Sep 29, 2021 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- Feb 24, 2021
- Close date
- Nov 9, 2021
- Est. award date
- Sep 29, 2021
- Award floor
- $150,000
- Award ceiling
- $850,000
- Est. total funding
- $100,000,000
- Expected awards
- 61
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Federally recognized tribal governments
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligibility is limited to the organizations noted above, in accordance with 42 U.S.C. Section 247b(k)(2)
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) announces the availability of fiscal year (FY) 2021 funds that will be awarded through cooperative agreements to support primary and secondary prevention strategies for childhood lead poisoning including: ensuring blood lead testing and reporting, enhancing blood lead surveillance, improving linkages to recommended services, and developing policies for targeted, population-based interventions. As part of this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO), recipients will be expected to demonstrate that processes are in place to identify lead-exposed children and link them to recommended services. More specifically, recipients will be expected to work in high-risk areas, and partner with other agencies and providers serving children to ensure that a comprehensive system of identification, referral, follow-up, and evaluation is in place for children exposed to lead.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.197
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Centers for Disease Control - NCEH
LPPS@cdc.gov
7704882756
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention and Surveillance of Blood Lead Levels in Children”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments and Federally recognized tribal governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention and Surveillance of Blood Lead Levels in Children”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $150k – $850k, total estimated program funding is $100,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 61 awards.
How do I apply for “Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention and Surveillance of Blood Lead Levels in Children”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity CDC-RFA-EH21-2102), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Pregnancy and Postpartum Hypertension Control Initiative
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health- Award range
- $300K – $550K
- Est. close
- Jul 16, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Genome Sequencing Center for the Gabriella Miller Kids First Pediatric Research Program (U24 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Oct 30, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
Notice of Intent to Publish a Funding Opportunity Announcement for Impact of Technology and Digital Media Exposure Usage on Child and Adolescent Development
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jun 30, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
Rigorously Evaluating Approaches to Prevent Child Sexual Abuse and Problematic Sexual Behavior among Youth
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- Up to $400K
- Est. close
- Dec 1, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
New Investigator Grants to Conduct Research to Prevent Interpersonal Violence and Suicide Among Children and Adolescents (K01)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- Up to $150K
- Est. close
- Dec 1, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
CDC National Centers of Excellence in Youth Violence Prevention (YVPCs): Rigorous Evaluation of Prevention Approaches to Prevent and Reduce Youth Violence
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- Up to $1.2M
- Est. close
- Dec 1, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more