Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was Mar 9, 2021)Opportunity CDC-RFA-GH21-2116

Achieving and Sustaining Epidemic Control Through Comprehensive HIV/AIDS Prevention, Care and Treatment Services in Machakos, Makueni and Kitui Counties in Kenya under the President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR)

Centers for Disease Control - CGH · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Achieving and Sustaining Epidemic Control Through Comprehensive HIV/AIDS Prevention, Care and Treatment Services in Machakos, Makueni and Kitui Counties in Kenya under the President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR) is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Centers for Disease Control - CGH (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was April 2, 2021. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.067 (Global AIDS).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jan 8, 2021Posted
  2. Apr 2, 2021Application deadline
  3. Sep 30, 2021 (est.)Est. award date
Posted
Jan 8, 2021
Close date
Apr 2, 2021
Est. award date
Sep 30, 2021
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Original deadline (extended)
Mar 9, 2021
Expected awards
2
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.067, not this notice): Range: $1,600,000,000 to $1,700,000,000. Average $1,655,000,000

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted (any entity type)

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Award Ceiling for Year 1 is 0 (none). CDC anticipates an Approximate Total Fiscal Year Funding amount of $8,800,000 for Year 1, subject to the availability of funds.
This NOFO will support implementation of sustainable, high quality, comprehensive HIV prevention and treatment programs in the Eastern region of Kenya, in collaboration with the County governments of Machakos, Makueni and Kitui counties. A key focus will be county capacity strengthening towards a Kenya-owned, and funded HIV program including HIV testing services (HTS); pediatric and adult HIV treatment; TB/HIV prevention, diagnosis and treatment; Prevention of Mother-to-Child Transmission (PMTCT); orphans and vulnerable children (OVC) services; HIV prevention and treatment for Key Populations (KP) (Female Sex Workers (FSW), Men who have Sex with Men (MSM), Transgender (TG) and People Who Inject Drugs (PWID)); HIV prevention for adolescent girls and young women (AGYW); associated laboratory services and strategic information; and county systems strengthening. This NOFO aligns with UNAIDS, PEPFAR and Kenya’s goal of ending AIDS by 2030. Expected outcomes include strengthened county health systems as evidenced by increased resource allocation, enhanced leadership and implementation of the HIV program by the county government, improved coverage and quality of HIV services for all populations, resulting in reduced HIV incidence and improved health outcomes, and reduced morbidity and mortality among people living with HIV (PLHIV) including those with TB and elimination of mother-to-child transmission of HIV (eMTCT).

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.067

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$1.66B
FY25$887M
FY26$502M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.067. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.067

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 108 grant awards had funding actions under Global AIDS, with 51 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK$221M
  2. ELIZABETH GLASER PEDIATRIC AIDS FOUNDATION$111M
  3. MANAGEMENT AND DEVELOPMENT FOR HEALTH$84.8M
  4. CENTER FOR INTERNATIONAL HEALTH, EDUCATION AND BIOSECURITY - KENYA$70.7M
  5. WITS HEALTH CONSORTIUM (PTY) LTD$69M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Centers for Disease Control - CGH
dln6@cdc.gov
770-488-2756

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity CDC-RFA-GH21-2116), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 93.137

Coordinating Center for Language Access Services

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
Award range
$600K – $700K
Est. close
Jul 1, 2025 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 8 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.137

Promoting Access with a Language Services Assistance Symbol

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
Award range
$500K – $600K
Est. close
Jul 2, 2025 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 8 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.088

Pregnancy and Postpartum Hypertension Control Initiative

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
Award range
$300K – $550K
Est. close
Jul 16, 2025 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today