Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was Mar 12, 2021)Opportunity CDC-RFA-GH21-2127

Provide Comprehensive Packages of HIV Prevention, Care, and Treatment Services for Key Populations in South Africa under the President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR)

Centers for Disease Control - CGH · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Provide Comprehensive Packages of HIV Prevention, Care, and Treatment Services for Key Populations in South Africa under the President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR) is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Centers for Disease Control - CGH (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was April 5, 2021. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.067 (Global AIDS).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jan 11, 2021Posted
  2. Apr 5, 2021Application deadline
  3. Sep 30, 2021 (est.)Est. award date
Posted
Jan 11, 2021
Close date
Apr 5, 2021
Est. award date
Sep 30, 2021
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Original deadline (extended)
Mar 12, 2021
Expected awards
3
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.067, not this notice): Range: $1,600,000,000 to $1,700,000,000. Average $1,655,000,000

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted (any entity type)

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Award Ceiling for Year 1 is 0 (none). CDC anticipates an Approximate Total Fiscal Year Funding amount of $11,000,000 for Year 1, subject to the availability of funds.This NOFO will focus on delivery of a comprehensive and targeted package of HIV prevention, testing, and treatment among key populations (KPs) including sex workers (SWs), men who have sex with men (MSM),  transgender people (TG), and people who inject drugs (PWID). Activities will take place over a period of five years and will focus on the provision of prevention, testing or screening, and treatment of HIV and related diseases including TB, sexually transmitted infections (STIs), and viral hepatitis. Complementary services (e.g., sexual and reproductive health, opioid substitution therapy (OST)) should be provided as necessary. The SW program will operate in 5 to 9 districts (i.e., eThekwini and uMgungundlovu in KwaZulu-Natal, OR Tambo in Eastern Cape, Dr. Kenneth Kaunda and Ngaka Modiri Molema in North West and Nkangala, Gert Sibande, and Ehlanzeni in Mpumalanga). The MSM/TG program will operate in 5 districts (i.e., eThekwini and uMgungundlovu in KwaZulu-Natal, Tshwane and Ekurhuleni in Gauteng, and Ehlanzeni in Mpumalanga). The PWID program will operate in 2 districts in South Africa (i.e., Tshwane in Gauteng and Ehlanzeni in Mpumalanga). There is a possibility of later expansion depending on epidemic need and PEPFAR prioritization. 

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.067

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$1.66B
FY25$887M
FY26$502M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.067. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Centers for Disease Control - CGH
dln6@cdc.gov
770-488-2756

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity CDC-RFA-GH21-2127), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.