Strengthening the Provision of Accessible and Quality Assured Laboratory Services in Namibia through the Namibia Institute of Pathology for Sustained Epidemic Control of HIV and TB under PEPFAR
Centers for Disease Control - CGH · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Strengthening the Provision of Accessible and Quality Assured Laboratory Services in Namibia through the Namibia Institute of Pathology for Sustained Epidemic Control of HIV and TB under PEPFAR is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Centers for Disease Control - CGH (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was May 14, 2021. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.067 (Global AIDS).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Mar 3, 2021Posted
- May 14, 2021Application deadline
- Posted
- Mar 3, 2021
- Close date
- May 14, 2021
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Original deadline (extended)
- May 2, 2021
- Expected awards
- 1
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.067, not this notice): Range: $1,600,000,000 to $1,700,000,000. Average $1,655,000,000
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible applicants that can apply for this NOFO are: Namibia Institute of Pathology (NIP)
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The Award Ceiling for Year 1 is 0 (none). CDC anticipates an Approximate Total Fiscal Year Funding amount of $3,500,000 for Year 1, subject to the availability of funds.
Over the next five years, diagnostic network optimization (DNO) within the laboratory system will be the primary overarching activity since it pinpoints deficiencies and strengthens the identified gaps remaining to reach sustained epidemic control of HIV and TB in Namibia, as well as responds to outbreak needs as they occur. Broadly, the activities under this NOFO will include: 1) the establishment of a national transport system using the Namibia Institute of Pathology (NIP) system as a base, 2) workflow analyses to assess testing needs based on number of patients on antiretroviral therapy (ART), 3) assessment of instrument utilization, and 4) establishment of a national unique patient identifier. These activities will enable the country to better track patients from one viral load (VL) test to the next to ensure suppression rates are accurate for all patients on ART, enhance and expand infant diagnosis to greater than the current 80% coverage, and ensure that all HIV patients that are dually infected with TB are diagnosed and treated.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
- NOFO for CDC-RFA-GH21-2157.pdfFull Announcement · NOFO for CDC-RFA-GH21-2157.pdfPDF · 1.2 MB
- Amended NOFO for CDC-RFA-GH21-2157.pdfRevised Full Announcement · Amended NOFO for CDC-RFA-GH21-2157.pdfPDF · 1.2 MB
- Amendment II for CDC-RFA-GH21-2157.pdfRevised Full Announcement · Amendment II for CDC-RFA-GH21-2157.pdfPDF · 1.0 MB
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.067
Historical data · not a predictionWho was funded under ALN 93.067
Historical data · not a predictionSince October 1, 2023, 108 grant awards had funding actions under Global AIDS, with 51 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK$221M
- ELIZABETH GLASER PEDIATRIC AIDS FOUNDATION$111M
- MANAGEMENT AND DEVELOPMENT FOR HEALTH$84.8M
- CENTER FOR INTERNATIONAL HEALTH, EDUCATION AND BIOSECURITY - KENYA$70.7M
- WITS HEALTH CONSORTIUM (PTY) LTD$69M
Agency contact (as published)
Centers for Disease Control - CGH
dln6@cdc.gov
770-488-2756
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity CDC-RFA-GH21-2157), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Strengthening Ghana Health Service laboratory services, diagnostic networks, and systems for a more effective, efficient, and sustainable response to HIV, TB, and other priority health threats
Centers for Disease Control-GHC- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Oct 16, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
National Training Center for Title X and Teen Pregnancy Prevention (TPP)
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health- Award range
- Up to $3.5M
- Est. close
- Jul 15, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 8 more
National Training Center for Title X and Teen Pregnancy Prevention (TPP)
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health- Award range
- Up to $1.5M
- Est. close
- Jul 15, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Pregnancy and Postpartum Hypertension Control Initiative
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health- Award range
- $300K – $550K
- Est. close
- Jul 16, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Research on System Support and Tools for Provider Training and Quality Monitoring for Suicide Preventive Care
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Oct 17, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
NIEHS Worker Training Program’s SBIR E-Learning for HAZMAT and Emergency Response (R43/R44 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Nov 20, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Small businesses