Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedOpportunity CDC-RFA-PS-27-0239

Strengthening Services to Prevent the Infectious Disease Consequences of Drug Use

Centers for Disease Control - NCHHSTP · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Strengthening Services to Prevent the Infectious Disease Consequences of Drug Use is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Centers for Disease Control - NCHHSTP (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of May 24, 2027; forecast dates can change. Total estimated funding is $82.5M across about 2 awards. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.488 (National Harm Reduction Technical Assistance and Syringe Services Program (SSP) Monitoring and Evaluation Funding Opportunity).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jul 24, 2026Forecast posted
  2. Mar 24, 2027 (est.)Full notice expectednext date
  3. May 24, 2027 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Aug 30, 2027 (est.)Est. award date
Posted
Jul 24, 2026
Est. close date
May 24, 2027
Est. award date
Aug 30, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$82,500,000
Implied average award
$41,250,000 calculated
Expected awards
2
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2027

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.488, not this notice): This assistance listing only applies to 1 Cooperative Agreement; obligation amounts are outlined above.

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Unrestricted (any entity type)

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This NOFO aims to strengthen services to prevent the infectious disease consequences of drug use in high impact settings serving people who use drugs (PWUD) through two components. Component 1 will improve service data by conducting a biennial survey of high-impact settings that serve PWUD to document capacity, needs, access, and service gaps. It will also improve timely local data on infectious disease consequences of drug use and the use of infectious disease testing, treatment, and prevention services at high-impact settings through a biennial biobehavioral survey of PWUD. Component 2 will increase support the availability and use of infectious disease testing, treatment and prevention services in high-impact settings serving PWUD. Applicants may apply for Component 1, Component 2, or both. Expected outcomes include enhanced capacity nationally and locally to use data to improve infectious disease testing, treatment and prevention services among PWUD, increased PWUD testing for HBV, HCV, and HIV, increased PWUD with hepatitis C who initiated treatment, and increased PWUD with HIV who engaged in care and treatment. This NOFO is in alignment with CDC priorities. 

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.488

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$12.4M
FY25$12.5M
FY26$12.5M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.488. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.488

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 3 grant awards had funding actions under National Harm Reduction Technical Assistance and Syringe Services Program (SSP) Monitoring and Evaluation Funding Opportunity. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. NATIONAL ALLIANCE OF STATE & TERRITORIAL AIDS DIRECTORS$9.15M
  2. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE$1.21M
  3. HEALTH, WASHINGTON STATE DEPARTMENT OF$150K
  4. PUERTO RICO DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH$150K
  5. CITY & COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO$150K
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Monica Adams
ydy7@cdc.gov
404-718-5092

Quick answers

Is “Strengthening Services to Prevent the Infectious Disease Consequences of Drug Use” open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around March 24, 2027. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for “Strengthening Services to Prevent the Infectious Disease Consequences of Drug Use”?

The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.

How much funding is available through “Strengthening Services to Prevent the Infectious Disease Consequences of Drug Use”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $82,500,000 and the agency expects to make about 2 awards.

How do I apply for “Strengthening Services to Prevent the Infectious Disease Consequences of Drug Use”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity CDC-RFA-PS-27-0239), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 93.978
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
May 31, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today