Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Storage System Cost Analyses Funding Opportunity
At a glance
Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Storage System Cost Analyses Funding Opportunity is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Golden Field Office (Department of Energy). The application deadline was February 18, 2011. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 81.087 (Renewable Energy Research and Development).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Dec 22, 2010Posted
- Feb 18, 2011Application deadline
- Posted
- Dec 22, 2010
- Close date
- Feb 18, 2011
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant, Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 81.087, not this notice): $15,000 to $66,539,696
Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The Fuel Cell Technologies (FCT) Program seeks to fund fuel cell system analyses for transportation and stationary applications to envision, define, and determine the cost of reference state-of-the-art or conceptual fuel cell systems for various sizes, applications, and manufacturing volumes that are optimized for lifecycle cost. The FCT Program is also looking to fund cost analyses for low through high volume manufacturing of hydrogen storage systems for on-board transportation and early market fuel cell applications such as stationary, portable, backup power and material handling (e.g., forklifts).
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 81.087
Historical data · not a predictionWho was funded under ALN 81.087
Historical data · not a predictionSince October 1, 2023, 1,324 grant awards had funding actions under Renewable Energy Research and Development, with 599 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.
- UNIVERSITY OF UTAH$73.5M
- PLUG POWER INC.$70.5M
- OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY$70.4M
- PROTON ENERGY SYSTEMS INC$54.4M
- AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERS$45.3M
Agency contact (as published)
Golden Field Office
720-356-1478
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Storage System Cost Analyses Funding Opportunity”?
The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.
How do I apply for “Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Storage System Cost Analyses Funding Opportunity”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity DE-FOA-0000420), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Accelerating Scale-up and Pre-piloting of Emerging Chemical Technologies (ASPECT)
Golden Field Office- Award range
- $2M – $20M
- Closes
- Dec 1, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
NOI: PROSPECT Program: Providing Opportunities for Specialized Education in Critical Technologies
Golden Field Office- Award range
- $1
- Closes
- Jan 15, 2027
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
Powering Affordable Reliable Technology (PART) Energy Program
Rural Utilities Service- Award range
- $1M – $100M
- Closes
- Oct 9, 2026
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
- Award range
- Up to $3M
- Closes
- Oct 14, 2030
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities
Silicon Carbide Cladding Lead Test Rod Development-Phase 1
Idaho Field Office- Award range
- Up to $62.5M
- Closes
- Dec 7, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 9 more
- Award range
- Up to $2M
- Closes
- Oct 9, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments and 6 more