Pre-Commercial Synchrophasor Research and Demonstration
National Energy Technology Laboratory · Department of Energy
At a glance
Pre-Commercial Synchrophasor Research and Demonstration is a closed federal grant opportunity from the National Energy Technology Laboratory (Department of Energy). The application deadline was December 2, 2013. Total estimated funding is $18M across about 7 awards. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 81.122 (Electricity Research, Development and Analysis).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Sep 26, 2013Posted
- Dec 2, 2013Application deadline
- Posted
- Sep 26, 2013
- Close date
- Dec 2, 2013
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $18,000,000
- Implied average award
- $2,571,429 calculated
- Expected awards
- 7
- Cost sharing
- Required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 81.122, not this notice): $500,000-$5,000,000; Average $2,500,000
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The purpose of this announcement is to advance the deployment of production-grade software applications that rely on synchrophasor data to enhance the reliability or improve the economic efficiency of bulk power system planning and operations.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 81.122
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
National Energy Technology Laboratory
sheldon.funk@netl.doe.gov
304-285-4084
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Pre-Commercial Synchrophasor Research and Demonstration”?
The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.
How much funding is available through “Pre-Commercial Synchrophasor Research and Demonstration”?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $18,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 7 awards.
How do I apply for “Pre-Commercial Synchrophasor Research and Demonstration”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity DE-FOA-0000970), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Accelerating Scale-up and Pre-piloting of Emerging Chemical Technologies (ASPECT)
Golden Field Office- Award range
- $2M – $20M
- Closes
- Dec 1, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Annual Recurring University Training and Research
National Energy Technology Laboratory- Award range
- $1 – $750K
- Closes
- Oct 16, 2026
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities
Request for Information - Gauging Investor Interest in the Development and Commercialization of Subsurface Energy Technologies
National Energy Technology Laboratory- Award range
- $1 – $2
- Closes
- Nov 5, 2026
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
NOI: PROSPECT Program: Providing Opportunities for Specialized Education in Critical Technologies
Golden Field Office- Award range
- $1
- Closes
- Jan 15, 2027
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
RFI - DOE Infrastructure Work Scope Development
Idaho Field Office- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- See notice
- Who can apply
- State governments, Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits and 3 more
Silicon Carbide Cladding Lead Test Rod Development-Phase 1
Idaho Field Office- Award range
- Up to $62.5M
- Closes
- Dec 7, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 9 more