Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedResearch announcementOpportunity ED-GRANTS-010825-001

Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): International Foreign Language Education (IFLE): Fulbright-Hays Faculty Research Abroad (FRA) Fellowship Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.019A

Department of Education

At a glance

Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): International Foreign Language Education (IFLE): Fulbright-Hays Faculty Research Abroad (FRA) Fellowship Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.019A is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Education. The application deadline was March 10, 2025. Total estimated funding is $750K across about 15 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities, private colleges & universities and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 84.019 (Overseas Programs - Faculty Research Abroad).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jan 8, 2025Posted
  2. Mar 10, 2025Application deadline
Posted
Jan 8, 2025
Close date
Mar 10, 2025
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$750,000
Implied average award
$50,000 calculated
Expected awards
15
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 84.019, not this notice): Varies by competition

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • Private colleges & universities
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

1. a. Eligible Applicants: Institutions of higher education (IHEs). Eligible faculty members at the IHE submit their individual research narratives and application forms to their home IHE representative, who compiles all research narratives from faculty and incorporates them into the grant application package that the institution submits electronically through the Department’s G6 system on behalf of all applicant faculty at that institution.b. Individuals Eligible to Receive a Fellowship: A faculty member is eligible to receive a fellowship if the individual--is a citizen, national or permanent resident of the United States; is employed by an IHE; has been engaged in teaching relevant to their foreign language or area studies specialization for the two years immediately preceding the date of the award; proposes research relevant to their modern foreign language or area studies specialization, which is not dissertation research for a doctoral degree; and possesses sufficient foreign language skills to carry out the dissertation research project.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information.

Purpose of Program: The Fulbright-Hays FRA Fellowship Program provides grants to colleges and universities to fund fellowships for faculty members seeking to improve their area studies and foreign language skills by conducting research abroad. The program is designed to contribute to the development and improvement of the study of modern foreign languages and area studies in the United States.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 84.019

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$891K
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 84.019. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Holly Clark Management and Program Analyst
FRA@ed.gov
2022456408

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $750,000 and the agency expects to make about 15 awards.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity ED-GRANTS-010825-001), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.