Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Teacher Quality Partnership (TQP) Grant Program CFDA Number 84.336S
At a glance
Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Teacher Quality Partnership (TQP) Grant Program CFDA Number 84.336S is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Education. The application deadline was May 20, 2019. Individual awards are listed as up to $1.5M, with about 20 awards expected and $37M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 84.336 (Teacher Quality Partnership Grants).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Apr 3, 2019Posted
- May 20, 2019Application deadline
- Posted
- Apr 3, 2019
- Close date
- May 20, 2019
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $1,500,000
- Est. total funding
- $37,000,000
- Expected awards
- 20
- Cost sharing
- Required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
1. Eligible Applicants: An eligible applicant must be an “eligible partnership” as defined in section 200(6) of the HEA. The term “eligible partnership” means an entity that-- (1) Must include: (i) A high-need LEA; (ii) A high-need school or a consortium of high-need schools served by the high-need LEA; or (B) As applicable, a high-need ECE program; (iii) A partner institution; (iv) A school, department, or program of education within such partner institution, which may include an existing teacher professional development program with proven outcomes within a four-year IHE that provides intensive and sustained collaboration between faculty and LEAs consistent with the requirements of title II of the HEA; and (v) A school or department of arts and sciences within such partner institution; and (2) May include any of the following-- (i) The Governor of the State. (ii) The State educational agency. (iii) The State board of education. (iv) The State agency for higher education. (v) A business. (vi) A public or private nonprofit educational organization. (vii) An educational service agency. (viii) A teacher organization. (ix) A high-performing LEA, or a consortium of such LEAs, that can serve as a resource to the partnership. (x) A charter school. (xi) A school or department within the partner institution that focuses on psychology and human development.(xii) A school or department within the partner institution with comparable expertise in the disciplines of teaching, learning, and child and adolescent development. (xiii) An entity operating a program that provides alternative routes to State certification of teachers.
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at:http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements,application submission information, performance measures, priorities andprogram contact information.
For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education DiscretionaryGrant Programs, published in the Federal Register on February 13, 2019 (84 FR 3768),or at www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-02-13/pdf/2019-02206.pdf.
The purposes ofthe TQP program are to improve student achievement; improve the quality ofprospective and new teachers by improving the preparation of prospectiveteachers and enhancing professional development activities for new teachers;hold teacher preparation programs at institutions of higher education (IHEs) accountable for preparing teachers who meet applicable State certification andlicensure requirements; and recruit highly qualified individuals, includingminorities and individuals from other occupations, into the teaching force.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) number 84.336S.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
- Common Instructions for Department of Education Discretionary Grant ProgramsFull Announcement · 2019-02206.pdfPDF · 231 KB
- OESE: Teacher Quality Partnership (TQP) Grant Program CFDA Number 84.336S; Notice Inviting Applications for New Awards for Fiscal Year 2019Full Announcement · 2019-06493.pdfPDF · 284 KB
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 84.336
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Julius C Cotton ED Grants.gov FIND Systems Admin.
tqpartnership@ed.gov
202-245-6288
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1.5m, total estimated program funding is $37,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 20 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity ED-GRANTS-040319-001), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Innovative Water Infrastructure Workforce Development Grant
Environmental Protection Agency- Award range
- Up to $7.8M
- Closes
- Oct 15, 2026
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Culture of Research and University Exchanges Prep program (CRUX) in One Health and Agricultural STEM
U.S. Mission to Zimbabwe- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jul 15, 2021 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Secondary Analysis and Integration of Existing Data to Elucidate Cancer Risk and Related Outcomes (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $350K
- Closes
- Nov 6, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Secondary Analysis and Integration of Existing Data to Elucidate Cancer Risk and Related Outcomes (R21 Clinical Trials Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $200K
- Closes
- Nov 17, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Annual Program Statement (APS)
U.S. Mission to Greece- Award range
- $25K – $100K
- Est. close
- Jul 11, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
EONS 2018: Appendix E Minority University Research and Education Project (MUREP) for Sustainability and Innovation Collaborative – (MUSIC)
National Aeronautics and Space Administration- Award range
- Up to $450K
- Closes
- See notice
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)