Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity ED-GRANTS-060519-001

Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Project Prevent Grant Program CFDA Number 84.184M

Department of Education

At a glance

Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Project Prevent Grant Program CFDA Number 84.184M is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Education. The application deadline was July 15, 2019. Total estimated funding is $10M across about 20 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 84.184 (School Safely National Activities).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jun 5, 2019Posted
  2. Jul 15, 2019Application deadline
Posted
Jun 5, 2019
Close date
Jul 15, 2019
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$10,000,000
Implied average award
$500,000 calculated
Expected awards
20
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

1. Eligible Applicants: LEAs, including charter schools that are considered LEAs under State law.

Also named in the notice's eligibility text
  • Independent school districts
Matched from the wording above by GrantsJunction — confirm in the full announcement.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

    Note:  Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html.  Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information.

    Fort he addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on February 13, 2019 (84 FR 3768),or at www.govinfo.gov/​content/​pkg/​FR-2019-02-13/​pdf/​2019-02206.pdf.

Purpose of Program:  The Project Prevent grant program provides grants to local educational agencies (LEAs) to increase their capacity to help schools in communities with pervasive violence to better address the needs of affected students and to break the cycle of violence in those communities. 

     Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA)number 84.184M.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 84.184

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$154M
FY25$197M
FY26$216M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 84.184. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Julius C Cotton ED Grants.gov FIND Systems Admin.
Project.Prevent@ed.gov
202-245-6288

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $10,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 20 awards.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity ED-GRANTS-060519-001), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 19.040

Annual Program Statement (APS)

U.S. Mission to Greece
Award range
$25K – $100K
Est. close
Jul 11, 2025 (est.)
Who can apply
Others (see notice)
Source: Grants.govVerified today