Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Mental Health Service Professional Demonstration Grant Program CFDA Number 84.184X
At a glance
Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Mental Health Service Professional Demonstration Grant Program CFDA Number 84.184X is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Education. The application deadline was August 5, 2019. Total estimated funding is $15M across about 50 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 84.184 (School Safely National Activities).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jun 21, 2019Posted
- Aug 5, 2019Application deadline
- Posted
- Jun 21, 2019
- Close date
- Aug 5, 2019
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $15,000,000
- Implied average award
- $300,000 calculated
- Expected awards
- 50
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
1. Eligible Applicants: High-need LEAs; SEAs on behalf of one or more high-need LEA(s). Applicants must propose to work in partnership with an eligible IHE.
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Private colleges & universities
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information.
For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on February 13, 2019 (84 FR 3768),or at www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-02-13/pdf/2019-02206.pdf.
Purpose of Program: The Mental Health Service Professional Demonstration Grant Program provides competitive grants to support and demonstrate innovative partnerships to train school-based mental health services providers for employment in schools and local educational agencies (LEAs). The goal of this program is to expand the pipeline of high-quality, trained providers to address the shortages of mental health service professionals in schools served by high-need LEAs. The partnerships must include (1) one or more high-need LEAs or a State educational agency(SEA) on behalf of one or more high-need LEAs; and (2) one or more eligible institutions of higher education (IHE). Partnerships must provide opportunities to place graduate students of IHEs in school-based mental health fields into schools served by the participating high-need LEAs to complete required field work, credit hours, internships, or related training as applicable fort he degree, license, or credential program of each student.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) number 84.184X.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
- Common Instructions for Department of Education Discretionary Grant ProgramsFull Announcement · 2019-02206.pdfPDF · 231 KB
- Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Mental Health Service Professional Demonstration Grant Program CFDA Number 84.184X; Notice Inviting Applications for New Awards for Fiscal Year (FY) 2019Full Announcement · 2019-13289.pdfPDF · 336 KB
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 84.184
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Julius C Cotton ED Grants.gov FIND Systems Admin.
Mental.Health@ed.gov.
202-245-6288
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $15,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 50 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity ED-GRANTS-062119-001), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Culture of Research and University Exchanges Prep program (CRUX) in One Health and Agricultural STEM
U.S. Mission to Zimbabwe- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jul 15, 2021 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Innovative Water Infrastructure Workforce Development Grant
Environmental Protection Agency- Award range
- Up to $7.8M
- Closes
- Oct 15, 2026
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Research Enhancement Award Program (REAP) for Health Professional Schools and Graduate Schools (R15 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $375K
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2028
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice)
Resident Opportunity and Self-Sufficiency Service Coordinator (ROSS-SC) Program – Fiscal Year 2026
Department of Housing and Urban Development- Award range
- $272K – $817K
- Est. close
- Sep 28, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations and 3 more
Secondary Analysis and Integration of Existing Data to Elucidate Cancer Risk and Related Outcomes (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $350K
- Closes
- Nov 6, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Secondary Analysis and Integration of Existing Data to Elucidate Cancer Risk and Related Outcomes (R21 Clinical Trials Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $200K
- Closes
- Nov 17, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more