Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity ED-GRANTS-121319-001

Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Native Hawaiian Education (NHE) Program CFDA Number 84.362A

Department of Education

At a glance

Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Native Hawaiian Education (NHE) Program CFDA Number 84.362A is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Education. The application deadline was February 11, 2020. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 84.362 (Native Hawaiian Education).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Dec 13, 2019Posted
  2. Feb 11, 2020Application deadline
Posted
Dec 13, 2019
Close date
Feb 11, 2020
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
33
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 84.362, not this notice): Range of New Awards: $250,000-$3,000,000; Average New Award: $1,200,000.

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Eligible Applicants: The following entities are eligible to apply under this competition: (a) Native Hawaiian educational organizations.(b) Native Hawaiian community-based organizations.(c) Public and private nonprofit organizations, agencies, and institutions with experience in developing or operating Native Hawaiian programs or programs of instruction in the Native Hawaiian language.(d) Charter schools.(e) Consortia of the organizations, agencies, and institutions described in paragraphs (a) through (c).

Also named in the notice's eligibility text
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
Matched from the wording above by GrantsJunction — confirm in the full announcement.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information.

   For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on February 13, 2019 (84 FR 3768),or at www.govinfo.gov/​content/​pkg/​FR-2019-02-13/​pdf/​2019-02206.pdf.

Purpose of Program: The purpose of the NHE program is to support innovative projects that recognize and address the unique educational needs of Native Hawaiians. These projects must include the activities authorized under section 6205(a)(2) of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, as amended (ESEA), and may include one or more of the activities authorized under section 6205(a)(3) of the ESEA.

Note: The construction of facilities that support the operation of Native Hawaiian education programs will be a permissible activity only if Congress specifically authorizes the use of FY 2020 funds for this purpose.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) number 84.362A.  

   SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Following publication of the NIA (84 FR 68154), Congress passed and the President signed the Act, which provides funding for the awards under this competition. The Act provides that the 5 percent limitation in section 6205(b) of the ESEA on the use of funds for administrative purposes applies only to direct administrative costs. Accordingly, we are amending the NIA to notify prospective applicants that no more than five percent of funds awarded for a FY 2020 grant under this program may be used for direct administrative costs. Pursuant to this language, for funds awarded in this competition for the NHE program, this five percent limit only includes direct administrative costs, and not indirect costs.

    All other requirements and conditions stated in the NIA remain the same.

Amendments

    In FR Doc. No. 2019-26944, in the Federal Register of December 13, 2019 (84 FR 68154), on page 68157, in the middle column, we are

replacing the text after the heading ``Funding Restrictions:'' with the following:

    No more than five percent of FY 2020 funds awarded for a grant under this program may be used for direct administrative costs (ESEA section 6205(b) and the Department of Education Appropriations Act, 2020 (the Act)). This five percent limit does not include indirect costs.

    Note: Pursuant to ESEA section 6205(b), in this competition under this program, the five percent limit includes direct and indirect administrative costs. However, in the Act, Congress explicitly specified that for FY 2020 funds the administrative cost cap refers only to direct administrative costs.

    We reference regulations outlining additional funding restrictions in the Applicable Regulations section of this notice.

    Program Authority: Section 6205 of the ESEA (20 U.S.C. 7515).

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 84.362

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$45.9M
FY25$45.9M
FY26$45.9M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 84.362. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Julius C Cotton ED Grants.gov FIND Systems Admin.
Hawaiian@ed.gov
202-245-6288

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity ED-GRANTS-121319-001), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 19.040

Annual Program Statement (APS)

U.S. Mission to Greece
Award range
$25K – $100K
Est. close
Jul 11, 2025 (est.)
Who can apply
Others (see notice)
Source: Grants.govVerified today