Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity ED-GRANTS-121719-002

Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad (DDRA) Program CFDA Number 84.022A

Department of Education

At a glance

Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad (DDRA) Program CFDA Number 84.022A is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Education. The application deadline was February 18, 2020. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities, private colleges & universities and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 84.022 (Overseas Programs - Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Dec 17, 2019Posted
  2. Feb 18, 2020Application deadline
Posted
Dec 17, 2019
Close date
Feb 18, 2020
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
100
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 84.022, not this notice): Not available.

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • Private colleges & universities
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Eligible Applicants: Institutions of higher education (IHEs). As part of the application process, students submit individual applications to the IHE. The IHE then officially submits all eligible individual student applications with its grant application to the Department.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

   Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information.

Purpose of Program: The Fulbright-Hays DDRA Fellowship Program provides opportunities to doctoral candidates to engage in dissertation research abroad in modern foreign languages and area studies. The program is designed to contribute to the development and improvement of the study of modern foreign languages and area studies in the United States. 

IV. Application and Submission Information

1. Address to Request Application Package: Both IHEs and student applicants can obtain an application package via the internet or from the Education Publications Center (ED PUBS). To obtain a copy via the internet, use the following address: www.G5.gov. To obtain a copy from ED Pubs, write, fax, or call the following: ED Pubs, U.S. Department of Education, P.O. Box 22207, Alexandria, VA 22304. Telephone, toll free: 1-877-433-7827. FAX: (703) 605-6794. If you use a TDD or a TTY, call, toll free: 1-877-576-7734.

You can contact ED Pubs at its website, also: www.EDPubs.gov or at its email address: edpubs@inet.ed.gov.

If you request an application package from ED Pubs, be sure to identify this program as follows: CFDA number 84.022A.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) number 84.022A.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 84.022

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$3.12M
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 84.022. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Julius C Cotton ED Grants.gov FIND Systems Admin.
ddra@ed.gov
202-245-6288

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity ED-GRANTS-121719-002), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.