Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity ED-GRANTS-122320-001

Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Rehabilitation Services Administration (RSA): American Indian Vocational Rehabilitation Services (AIVRS) Assistance Listing Number 84.250N

Department of Education

At a glance

Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS): Rehabilitation Services Administration (RSA): American Indian Vocational Rehabilitation Services (AIVRS) Assistance Listing Number 84.250N is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Education. The application deadline was April 22, 2021. Total estimated funding is $27.1M across about 51 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include federally recognized tribal governments, native american tribal organizations and others (see notice). Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 84.250 (American Indian Vocational Rehabilitation Services).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Dec 23, 2020Posted
  2. Apr 22, 2021Application deadline
Posted
Dec 23, 2020
Close date
Apr 22, 2021
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$27,086,128
Expected awards
51
Cost sharing
Required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

1. Eligible Applicants: Applications may be made only by Indian Tribes (and consortia of those Indian Tribes) located on Federal and State reservations. The definition of “Indian Tribe” in section 7(19)(B) of the Rehabilitation Act is “any Federal or State Indian tribe, band, rancheria, pueblo, colony, or community, including any Alaskan native village or regional village corporation (as defined in or established pursuant to the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act) and a tribal organization (as defined in section 4(1) of the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act (25 U.S.C. 450b(1)).” “Reservation” is defined in 34 CFR 371.6 as “a Federal or State Indian reservation, public domain Indian allotment, former Indian reservation in Oklahoma, land held by incorporated Native groups, regional corporations and village corporations under the provisions of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act; or a defined area of land recognized by a State or the Federal Government where there is a concentration of tribal members and on which the tribal government is providing structured activities and services.” The applicant for an AIVRS grant must be-- (1) The governing body of an Indian Tribe, either on behalf of the Indian Tribe or on behalf of a consortium of Indian Tribes; or (2) A Tribal organization that is a separate legal organization from an Indian Tribe. To receive an AIVRS grant, a Tribal organization that is not a governing body of an Indian Tribe must--(1) Have as one of its functions the vocational rehabilitation of American Indians with disabilities; and(2) Have the approval of the Tribe to be served by such organization. If a grant is made to the governing body of an Indian Tribe, either on its own behalf or on behalf of a consortium, or to a Tribal organization to perform services benefiting more than one Indian Tribe, the approval of each such Indian Tribe shall be a prerequisite to the making of such a grant.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information.

For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on February 13, 2019 (84 FR 3768),or at www.govinfo.gov/​content/​pkg/​FR-2019-02-13/​pdf/​2019-02206.pdf.

Purpose of Program: The purpose of this program is to provide VR services, including culturally appropriate services, to American Indians with disabilities who reside on or near Federal or State reservations, consistent with such eligible individual’s strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, capabilities, interests, and informed choice, so that such individual may prepare for, and engage in, high-quality employment that will increase opportunities for economic self-sufficiency.

Assistance Listing Number 84.250N.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 84.250

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$50.7M
FY25$50.7M
FY26$53.2M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 84.250. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Julius C Cotton ED Grants.gov FIND Systems Admin.
August.Martin@ed.gov
202-245-6288

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $27,086,128 and the agency expects to make about 51 awards.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity ED-GRANTS-122320-001), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 19.040

Annual Program Statement (APS)

U.S. Mission to Greece
Award range
$25K – $100K
Est. close
Jul 11, 2025 (est.)
Who can apply
Others (see notice)
Source: Grants.govVerified today