Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was Apr 24, 2013)Opportunity FR-5700-N-11

Self-Help Homeownership Opportunity Program (SHOP)

Department of Housing and Urban Development

At a glance

Self-Help Homeownership Opportunity Program (SHOP) is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Housing and Urban Development. The application deadline was July 15, 2013. Total estimated funding is $12.8M. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 14.247 (Self-Help Homeownership Opportunity Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jan 23, 2013Posted
  2. Jul 15, 2013Application deadline
Posted
Jan 23, 2013
Close date
Jul 15, 2013
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$12,793,869
Original deadline (extended)
Apr 24, 2013
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 14.247, not this notice): Four grants were awarded with FY 2022 funds. They ranged from $2,057,772 to $4,000,000. The average grant was $3,125,000‬.

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

An applicant must be a public or private non-profit organization, or a consortium of public or private non-profit organizations, that has the capacity and experience to provide or facilitate self-help homeownership housing opportunities on a national or regional basis. Individuals and local non-profit organizations are not eligible applicants and cannot apply for funding under this competitive SHOP NOFA.

Also named in the notice's eligibility text
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
Matched from the wording above by GrantsJunction — confirm in the full announcement.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

SHOP Grant funds are awarded to national and regional non-profit organizations and consortia to facilitate and encourage innovative homeownership opportunities on a national, geographically diverse basis through the provision of self-help homeownership housing programs. SHOP Grantees must use a significant amount of SHOP Grant funds in at least two states. SHOP Grant funds must be used for land acquisition, infrastructure improvements, and for reasonable and necessary planning, administration and management costs (not to exceed 20 percent). The construction or rehabilitation costs of each SHOP unit must be funded with other leveraged public and private funds. The average SHOP Grant expenditure for the combined costs of land acquisition and infrastructure improvements must not exceed $15,000 per SHOP unit. Eligible low-income homebuyers must contribute a significant amount of sweat equity towards the development of the SHOP units. Volunteer labor is also required. Assisted units must be decent, safe, and sanitary non-luxury dwellings that comply with state and local codes, ordinances, and zoning requirements, and with the SHOP requirements (including requirements for energy-efficiency and water conservation). The SHOP units must be sold to homebuyers at prices below the prevailing market price. A homebuyer’s sweat equity contribution must not be mortgaged or otherwise restricted upon future sale of the SHOP unit. SHOP Grantees may award SHOP Grant funds to local non-profit affiliate organizations to carry out the Grantee’s SHOP program. These affiliate organizations must be located within the Grantee’s service area.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 14.247

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$26M
FY25—
FY26$28M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 14.247. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Department of Housing and Urban Development
202 708 0667

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Self-Help Homeownership Opportunity Program (SHOP)”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Self-Help Homeownership Opportunity Program (SHOP)”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $12,793,869.

How do I apply for “Self-Help Homeownership Opportunity Program (SHOP)”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity FR-5700-N-11), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.