FY 2024 Family Unification Program Notice of Funding Opportunity
At a glance
FY 2024 Family Unification Program Notice of Funding Opportunity is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Housing and Urban Development. The application deadline was October 30, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $1.7M, with about 10 awards expected and $5.03M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 14.880 (Family Unification Program (FUP)).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Aug 1, 2024Posted
- Oct 30, 2024Application deadline
- Posted
- Aug 1, 2024
- Close date
- Oct 30, 2024
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $1,700,000
- Est. total funding
- $5,030,814
- Expected awards
- 10
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible ApplicantsOnly PHAs that have an existing Annual Contributions Contract (ACC) with HUD for the HCV program are eligible to apply for funding under this announcement.PHAs wishing to share the administration of the program with another PHA may apply jointly; however, the Annual Contributions Contract (ACC) will be solely with the lead PHA applicant and all reporting must be submitted by the lead PHA applicant. The maximum number of vouchers will be based on the lead PHA's voucher program size or the identified need for the shared jurisdiction, if lower than the indicated cap, in accordance with Section II.C. of this NOFO. The agreement to share in the administration of the vouchers must be included in the application package.If the applicant PHA will formally partner with another PHA that will administer the vouchers on behalf of the applicant PHA (where the partner PHA is not applying for FUP vouchers), the Annual Contributions Contract (ACC) will be solely with the applicant PHA and all reporting must be submitted by the applicant PHA. The maximum number of vouchers will be based on the size of the applicant PHA’s voucher program or the applicant PHA’s identified need for such vouchers, if lower than the indicated cap. The agreement to administer the vouchers on behalf of the applicant PHA must be included in the application package.Eligible PHAs must have demonstrated a commitment to administer FUP, which shall be verified by an executed Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) among the PHA(s), PCWA, and CoC that meets the requirements of Section III.F.5. of this NOFO.HUD will only consider funding one application per PHA. This one-application limit applies regardless of whether the PHA is a State or regional PHA. In instances where a PHA has more than one PHA code number due to its operating under the jurisdiction of more than one HUD Field Office, a separate application, under each code, shall be considered for funding with the cumulative total of vouchers applied for under the applications not to exceed the maximum number of vouchers the PHA is eligible to apply for under this NOFO (i.e., no more than the number of vouchers the same PHA would be eligible to apply for if it had only one PHA code number). Individuals, foreign entities, and sole proprietorship organizations are not eligible to compete for, or receive, awards made under this announcement.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The Family Unification Program (FUP) is a program under which public housing authorities (PHAs) that partner with public child welfare agencies (PCWAs) provide Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) assistance to two groups: 1. Families for whom the lack of adequate housing is a primary factor in the imminent placement of the family’s child, or children, in out-of-home care; or the delay in the discharge of the child, or children, to the family from out-of-home care; and 2. Youth at least 18 years and not more than 24 years of age (have not reached their 25th birthday) who left foster care, or will leave foster care within 90 days, in accordance with a transition plan described in Section 475(5)(H) of the Social Security Act, and are homeless or are at risk of becoming homeless at age 16 or older. There is no time limit on FUP vouchers issued to families. As required by statute, FUP vouchers issued to youth are limited to 36 months. The Fostering Stable Housing Opportunities (FSHO) amendments (Section 103 of Division Q of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021 (Pub. L. 116-260)) provides FUP youth an extension of the 36-month time limit for up to an additional 24 months if they meet certain requirements. FSHO applies to FUP youth who first leased or leases a unit after the date of enactment of FSHO, December 27, 2020, which includes youth that will be assisted with funding under this NOFO. HUD published an FSHO implementation notice in the Federal Register on January 24, 2022 (87 FR 3570).
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 14.880
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Department of Housing and Urban Development
2024FUPNOFO@hud.gov
202 708 0667
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “FY 2024 Family Unification Program Notice of Funding Opportunity”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “FY 2024 Family Unification Program Notice of Funding Opportunity”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1.7m, total estimated program funding is $5,030,814 and the agency expects to make about 10 awards.
How do I apply for “FY 2024 Family Unification Program Notice of Funding Opportunity”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity FR-6800-N-84), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Family Unification Program (FUP) Multi-Year NOFO
Department of Housing and Urban Development- Award range
- Up to $1.7M
- Est. close
- Nov 10, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public & Indian housing authorities
Authority to Accept Unsolicited Proposals for Research Partnerships Notice of Intent (NOI)
Department of Housing and Urban Development- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jun 9, 2027
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Resident Opportunity and Self-Sufficiency Service Coordinator (ROSS-SC) Program – Fiscal Year 2026
Department of Housing and Urban Development- Award range
- $272K – $817K
- Est. close
- Sep 28, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations and 3 more
FY2026/2027 Community Compass Technical Assistance and Capacity Building Program Notice of Funding Opportunity
Department of Housing and Urban Development- Award range
- $250K – $35M
- Est. close
- Feb 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 9 more
Community Development Block Grant Program for Indian Tribes and Alaska Native Villages
Department of Housing and Urban Development- Award range
- $500K – $2M
- Est. close
- Nov 16, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments and Native American tribal organizations
Community Development Block Grant Program for Indian Tribes and Alaska Native Villages
Department of Housing and Urban Development- Award range
- $500K – $2.25M
- Est. close
- Mar 31, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments and Native American tribal organizations