Centers for Independent Living – Michigan
Administration for Community Living · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Centers for Independent Living – Michigan is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Administration for Community Living (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was September 7, 2021. Individual awards are listed as $143K, with about 1 award expected and $143K in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include 501(c)(3) nonprofits. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.432 (ACL Centers for Independent Living).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jul 9, 2021Posted
- Sep 7, 2021Application deadline
- Sep 23, 2021 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- Jul 9, 2021
- Close date
- Sep 7, 2021
- Est. award date
- Sep 23, 2021
- Award floor
- $142,635
- Award ceiling
- $142,635
- Est. total funding
- $142,635
- Expected awards
- 1
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible Applicants: To be eligible for funding, an applicant must-- (a) Be a consumer-controlled, community-based, cross-disability, non-residential, private nonprofit agency; (b) Have the power and authority to-- (1) Carry out the purpose of Part C of title VII of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended and perform the functions listed in section 725(b) and (c) of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended and subparts F and G of 45 CFR part 1329 within a community located within a State or in a bordering State; and (2) Receive and administer-- (i) Funds under 45 CFR part 1329; (ii) Funds and contributions from private or public sources that may be used in support of a center; and (iii) Funds from other public and private programs; (c) Be able to plan, conduct, administer, and evaluate a center consistent with the standards and assurances in section 725(b) and (c) of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended and subparts F and G of 45 CFR part 1329; (d) Either-- (1) Not currently be receiving funds under Part C of chapter 1 of title VII of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended; or (2) Propose the expansion of an existing center through the establishment of a separate and complete center (except that the governing board of the existing center may serve as the governing board of the new center) at a different geographical location; (e) Propose to serve one or more of the geographic areas that are identified as unserved or underserved by the States and Outlying Areas listed under Estimated Number of Awards; and (f) Submit appropriate documentation demonstrating that the establishment of a new center is consistent with the design for establishing a statewide network of centers in the State Plan for Independent Living of the State or Outlying Area whose geographic area or areas the applicant proposes to serve. Foreign entities are not eligible to compete for, or receive, awards made under this announcement.
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
ACL intends to award funds for the establishment of one (1) center for independent living in Michigan to provide, expand, and improve the provision of independent living services and support the network of centers for independent living. At a minimum, centers funded by the program are required to provide the following core services:
Information and referral;
Independent Living skills training;
Peer counseling;
Individual and systems advocacy; and
Services that facilitate transition from nursing homes and other institutions to the community, assistance to those at risk of entering institutions, and facilitate the transition of youth to postsecondary life.
The estimated total funding amount to be awarded to establish a center for independent living in Michigan to provide independent living services in St. Clair, Lapeer, Sanilac, Tuscola, and Huron counties is $142,635.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.432
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Administration for Community Living
kimball.gray@acl.hhs.gov
202-795-7361
Places named in the notice
Derived from the notice text. A place being named does not by itself restrict eligibility.
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Centers for Independent Living – Michigan”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: 501(c)(3) nonprofits. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Centers for Independent Living – Michigan”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $143k, total estimated program funding is $142,635 and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.
How do I apply for “Centers for Independent Living – Michigan”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HHS-2021-ACL-AOD-IL-0113), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Traumatic Brain Injury Model Systems Centers
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $560K – $640K
- Est. close
- Apr 1, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more
Burn Injury Model System Centers
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $560K – $640K
- Est. close
- Apr 8, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more
NIH Pathway to Independence Award (Parent K99/R00 Independent Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
NIH Pathway to Independence Award (Parent K99/R00 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Advanced Rehabilitation Research Training (ARRT) Program - Community Living and Participation
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $245K – $250K
- Est. close
- Dec 7, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities
Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - Developing Dementia-Capable Community Health Worker Programs in the National Aging Network
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $200K – $250K
- Est. close
- May 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)