Traumatic Brain Injury State Partnership Program (SPP)
Administration for Community Living · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Traumatic Brain Injury State Partnership Program (SPP) is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Administration for Community Living (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was May 27, 2021. Individual awards are listed as $170K – $260K, with about 28 awards expected and $5.6M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments and federally recognized tribal governments. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.234 (Traumatic Brain Injury State Demonstration Grant Program).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Mar 26, 2021Posted
- May 27, 2021Application deadline
- Jun 1, 2021 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- Mar 26, 2021
- Close date
- May 27, 2021
- Est. award date
- Jun 1, 2021
- Award floor
- $170,000
- Award ceiling
- $260,000
- Est. total funding
- $5,600,000
- Expected awards
- 28
- Cost sharing
- Required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- State governments
- Federally recognized tribal governments
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
State, territorial governments, and federally recognized Indian Tribal governments and Native American organizations are the only eligible applicants for funding. The application for a TBI State Partnership Program grant may only come from the state agency designated by the Chief Executive Officer of the state as the lead agency for TBI within the state, territory, or Indian tribal government. Only one application from each state, territorial government, federally recognized Indian tribal government or Native American organization may enter the review process and be considered for a TBI State Partnership grant. Foreign entities are not eligible to compete for, or receive, awards made under this announcement. Foreign entities are not eligible to compete for, or receive, awards made under this announcement.
- Native American tribal organizations
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The Administration for Community Living is funding individual state grants for the Traumatic Brain Injury State Partnership Program (SPP) for the Fiscal Year 2021 (FY21) grant cycle. The purpose of this forecasted program is to strengthen person-centered, culturally competent systems of services and supports that maximize independence, well-being, and health for diverse populations with Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) across the lifespan and their support networks.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
- Full AnnouncementFull Announcement · HHS-2021-ACL-AOD-TBSG-0070.pdfPDF · 700 KB
- FAQsOther Supporting Documents · Published_2021 NOFO FAQ Call with ACL_FINAL_21MAY21.pdfPDF · 99 KB
- Updated TBI Call InformationOther Supporting Documents · Traumatic Brain Injury State Partnership Program Grant Pre-Application Information Call.docxVND. · 12 KB
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.234
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Administration for Community Living
rebecca.ellison@acl.hhs.gov
202-795-7361
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Traumatic Brain Injury State Partnership Program (SPP)”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments and Federally recognized tribal governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Traumatic Brain Injury State Partnership Program (SPP)”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $170k – $260k, total estimated program funding is $5,600,000 and the agency expects to make about 28 awards.
How do I apply for “Traumatic Brain Injury State Partnership Program (SPP)”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HHS-2021-ACL-AOD-TBSG-0070), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Traumatic Brain Injury Model Systems Centers
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $560K – $640K
- Est. close
- Apr 1, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more
Burn Injury Model System Centers
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $560K – $640K
- Est. close
- Apr 8, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more
Forecast to Publish a Funding Opportunity Announcement for the Consortium on the Neurobiology of Adolescent Drinking in Adulthood (NADIA) Research Resource (Collaborative U24 - Clinical Trials not allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Sep 30, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
Forecast to Publish a Funding Opportunity Announcement for the Consortium on the Neurobiology of Adolescent Drinking in Adulthood (NADIA) Administrative Resource (Collaborative U24 - Clinical Trials not allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Sep 30, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
Small Business Translator: MedTech and Digital Health Technologies
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Oct 20, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
Funding Opportunity Announcement for Impact of Environmental Exposures on Gut-Brain Signaling in Neurological Conditions (R01)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jan 15, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 9 more