Disaster Assistance for State Units on Aging (SUAs) and Tribal Organizations in Major Disasters Declared by the President
Administration for Community Living · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Disaster Assistance for State Units on Aging (SUAs) and Tribal Organizations in Major Disasters Declared by the President is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Administration for Community Living (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was September 6, 2022. Individual awards are listed as $1 – $600K, with about 7 awards expected and $600K in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.048 (Special Programs for the Aging, Title IV, and Title II, Discretionary Projects).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- May 31, 2022Posted
- Sep 6, 2022Application deadline
- Sep 6, 2022 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- May 31, 2022
- Close date
- Sep 6, 2022
- Est. award date
- Sep 6, 2022
- Award floor
- $1
- Award ceiling
- $600,000
- Est. total funding
- $600,000
- Expected awards
- 7
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
State Units on Aging and federally recognized Tribal Organizations funded under Title VI of the Older Americans Act who received a Major Disaster Declaration issued by the President of the United States under the Robert T. Stafford Relief and Emergency Assistance Act. Foreign entities are not eligible to compete for, or receive, awards made under this announcement.
- Native American tribal organizations
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
Grants awarded under this announcement are to provide disaster reimbursement and assistance funds to those State Units on Aging (SUAs), and federally recognized Tribal Organizations who are currently receiving a grant under Title VI of the Older Americans Act (OAA), as amended. These funds only become available when the President declares a Major Disaster under the Robert T. Relief and Emergency Assistance Act and may only be used in those areas designated in the Disaster Declaration issued by the President of the United States under the Robert T. Stafford Relief and Emergency Assistance Act. Eligible SUAs and Title VI grantees should discuss all disaster applications with ACL Regional staff before submitting a formal application. The amount of funds requested should be discussed with Regional staff before the application is completed. Providing a draft of the narrative justification for the application to the Regional Office will help expedite the processing of an award. Applicants should talk with the State and local Emergency Managers to determine what funds may be available through other resources before applying for OAA funding. SUAs, and federally recognized Tribal Organizations currently receiving a grant under Title VI of the OAA must submit proposals electronically via http://www.grants.gov. At http//www.grants.gov, you will be able to download a copy of the application packet, complete it off-line, and then upload and submit the application via the Grants.gov website
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.048
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Administration for Community Living
kathleen.votava@acl.hhs.gov
202-795-7361
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $1 – $600k, total estimated program funding is $600,000 and the agency expects to make about 7 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HHS-2022-ACL-AOA-DASG-0068), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - Developing Dementia-Capable Community Health Worker Programs in the National Aging Network
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $200K – $250K
- Est. close
- May 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
Lifespan Respite Care Program: State Grants
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $300K – $500K
- Est. close
- May 31, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments
Dissemination and Implementation Research in Health (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
New Approaches for Measuring Brain Changes Across Longer Timespans (R21 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
New Approaches for Measuring Brain Changes Across Longer Timespans (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Rehabilitation Research and Training Center (RRTC): National Research Center for Parents with Disabilities
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $920K – $925K
- Est. close
- Mar 26, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more