Expanding Outreach and Professional Training to Engage Older Adults with Behavioral Health Conditions in Evidence-Based Health Promotion Programs
Administration for Community Living · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Expanding Outreach and Professional Training to Engage Older Adults with Behavioral Health Conditions in Evidence-Based Health Promotion Programs is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Administration for Community Living (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was May 31, 2024. Individual awards are listed as $2M – $3.26M, with about 1 award expected and $3.26M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 6 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.734 (Empowering Older Adults and Adults with Disabilities through Chronic Disease Self-Management Education Programs – financed by Prevention and Public Health Funds (PPHF)).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Apr 1, 2024Posted
- May 31, 2024Application deadline
- Aug 1, 2024 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- Apr 1, 2024
- Close date
- May 31, 2024
- Est. award date
- Aug 1, 2024
- Award floor
- $2,000,000
- Award ceiling
- $3,260,699
- Est. total funding
- $3,260,699
- Expected awards
- 1
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Public & Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Private colleges & universities
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Foreign entities are not eligible to compete for, or receive, awards made under this announcement. Faith-based and community organizations that meet the eligibility requirements are eligible to receive awards under this funding opportunity announcement.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The purpose of this funding opportunity is to provide leadership, expert guidance, training, and resources to community-based organizations and aging and disability service providers to increase the engagement of older adults with mental and behavioral health needs in evidence-based health promotion programs. Outcomes will include an environmental scan of barriers adults with mental and behavioral health needs experience related to evidence-based program engagement, needs assessment(s) of target audiences, and development and implementation of appropriate training and resources for professionals and service providers. Content created under this grant program must have the potential for broad implementation throughout the aging services network.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.734
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Administration for Community Living
Chelsea.gilchrist@acl.hhhs.gov
202-795-7407
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $2m – $3.26m, total estimated program funding is $3,260,699 and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HHS-2024-ACL-AOA-CSSG-0018), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Lifespan Respite Care Program: State Grants
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $300K – $500K
- Est. close
- May 31, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments
Forecast to Renew the Notice of Funding Opportunity Announcement for the Multiple Chronic Disease Research Centers
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jul 25, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
NIEHS Worker Training Program’s HAZMAT Training at DOE Nuclear Weapons Complex (UH4 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Nov 25, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and 1 more
Forecast to Publish a Funding Opportunity Announcement for Research Centers in Minority Institutions (RCMI) (U54 - Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Nov 26, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice)
Resource and Capacity Building to Advance the Science of Aggression across Species and Disciplines (R24 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $6
- Est. close
- Jan 16, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
Research Project Cooperative Agreements in Aging and/or Alzheimer's disease (AD) and Alzheimer's disease-related dementias (ADRD) Research
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jun 20, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more