Competitive Personal Responsibility Education Program
Administration for Children & Families - ACYF/FYSB · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Competitive Personal Responsibility Education Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Administration for Children & Families - ACYF/FYSB (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was August 31, 2026. Individual awards are listed as $250K – $450K, with about 21 awards expected and $10M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts, public colleges & universities and 9 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.092 (Affordable Care Act (ACA) Personal Responsibility Education Program).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Aug 5, 2026Posted
- Aug 31, 2026Application deadline
- Aug 29, 2026 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- Aug 5, 2026
- Close date
- Aug 31, 2026
- Est. award date
- Aug 29, 2026
- Award floor
- $250,000
- Award ceiling
- $450,000
- Est. total funding
- $10,000,000
- Expected awards
- 21
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Public & Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
- Small businesses
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible applicants are limited to local organizations and entities or consortia, with the capacity to develop and implement Competitive PREP projects in in states and territories that do not accept FY2026 allocations for State PREP. Applications from individuals (including sole proprietorships) and foreign entities are not eligible and will be disqualified from the merit review and funding under this funding opportunity. Faith-based and community organizations that meet the eligibility requirements are eligible for awards under this funding opportunity.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The Family and Youth Services Bureau will be posting a revised Competitive PREP NOFO shortly and will be accepting applications. Awards made are for the development and implementation of the Personal Responsibility Education Program (PREP) in states that do not accept FY2026 allocations for State PREP. This program supports educational projects for youth ages 10–19 and for pregnant and parenting youth under age 21, focusing on abstinence and contraception to prevent pregnancy, sexually transmitted infections, and HIV/AIDS. Projects are also required to implement at least three of the following six adulthood preparation subjects: healthy relationships, adolescent development, financial literacy, parent-child communication, educational and career success, and healthy life skills.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.092
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Administration for Children & Families - ACYF/FYSB
Latanya.Bispham-Robinson@acf.hhs.gov
202-690-7110
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Competitive Personal Responsibility Education Program”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities, For-profit organizations (not small businesses) and 2 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Competitive Personal Responsibility Education Program”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $250k – $450k, total estimated program funding is $10,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 21 awards.
How do I apply for “Competitive Personal Responsibility Education Program”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HHS-2026-ACF-ACYF-AK-0014), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Human Trafficking Youth Prevention Education (HTYPE) Demonstration Program
Administration for Children and Families-IOAS-OTIP- Award range
- $350K – $400K
- Est. close
- Mar 10, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Competing Revisions to Existing NIH Single Project Research Grants and Cooperative Agreements (Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Nov 24, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Head Start/Early Head Grants in Multiple States
Administration for Children and Families - OHS- Award range
- $1.01M – $79.7M
- Est. close
- Dec 15, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more
Early Head Start Expansion and Early Head Start - Child Care Partnership Grants in Multiple States
Administration for Children and Families - OHS- Award range
- $1.23M – $4.96M
- Est. close
- Dec 15, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more
NIH Pathway to Independence Award (Parent K99/R00 Independent Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
NIH Pathway to Independence Award (Parent K99/R00 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more