Regional Public Health Training Centers (PHTC) Program
Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Regional Public Health Training Centers (PHTC) Program is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was January 24, 2022. Total estimated funding is $9.1M across about 10 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.516 (Public Health Training Centers Program).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Nov 24, 2021Posted
- Jan 24, 2022Application deadline
- Posted
- Nov 24, 2021
- Close date
- Jan 24, 2022
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $9,100,000
- Implied average award
- $910,000 calculated
- Expected awards
- 10
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.516, not this notice): Regional PHTCs FY 23 Range: $768,804 to $1,089,138 Average: $891,881 FY 24 Range: $768,804 to $1,089,138 Average: $891,881 FY 25 est Range: $768,804 to $1,089,138 Average: $891,881 Public Health Scholarship Program FY 23 Range Actual: $3,518 to $231,395; Average Award: $11,376 FY 24: $0 FY 25: $0
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible applicants include an accredited school of public health, or another public or nonprofit private entity accredited for the provision of graduate or specialized training in public health. Faith-based and community-based organizations, tribes, and tribal organizations may apply for these funds, if otherwise eligible. In addition to the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Guam, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau may apply. Tribes and tribal organizations may apply for these funds, if otherwise eligible. Foreign entities are not eligible for this HRSA award. Current Regional PHTC award recipients whose awards are scheduled to end on June 30, 2022 are eligible to apply for this funding opportunity and should apply as “Competing Continuations.” All other applicants should apply as “New.”
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The Regional PHTC Program seeks to increase the number of individuals in the public health workforce, enhance the quality of such workforce, and improve the ability of this workforce to meet national, state, and local health care needs. Specifically, this program aims to strengthen the public health workforce through tailored training and technical assistance (TA)1 through collaborative community-based projects. Training curricula will provide skill-based, interactive instruction and quality education using multiple modalities (e.g., synchronous, asynchronous, distance-based, bi-directional video, and in-person), underscoring the current eight cross-cutting core public health competency domains in the primary areas of (1) analytical/assessment, (2) policy development/ program planning, (3) communication skills, (4) cultural competency, (5) community dimension of practice, (6) public health sciences, (7) financial planning and management and, (8) leadership and systems thinking.2 Each Regional PHTC must develop training in at least three primary areas listed above and may develop trainings in the sub competencies3 and beyond based on local health needs assessments. Regional PHTCs seek to develop current and future public health leaders though Leadership Institutes. Moreover, the program aims to establish and enhance collaborative partnerships among state and local health departments, primary care providers, and related organizations (to include non-traditional partners) as they work together to address critical local public health needs.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.516
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Health Resources and Services Administration
mlincoln@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Regional Public Health Training Centers (PHTC) Program”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Regional Public Health Training Centers (PHTC) Program”?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $9,100,000 and the agency expects to make about 10 awards.
How do I apply for “Regional Public Health Training Centers (PHTC) Program”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-22-055), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Centers of Excellence (COE)
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $1 – $686K
- Est. close
- Feb 2, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities
Fiscal Year (FY) 2027 State and Regional Primary Care Association (PCA) Cooperative Agreements
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $790K – $4.9M
- Est. close
- Jan 25, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 9 more
Chronic Care Telehealth Centers of Excellence Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- Up to $3.8M
- Est. close
- May 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities
Fiscal Year 2027 Regional Nutrition Hubs
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $1M
- Est. close
- Dec 15, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Rural Health Network Development Planning Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- Up to $100K
- Est. close
- Mar 23, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 9 more
NIEHS Worker Training Program’s SBIR E-Learning for HAZMAT and Emergency Response (R43/R44 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Nov 20, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Small businesses