Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program
Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was March 31, 2022. Total estimated funding is $19.2M across about 30 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include federally recognized tribal governments, native american tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.530 (Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education Payment).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jan 31, 2022Posted
- Mar 31, 2022Application deadline
- Jul 1, 2022 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- Jan 31, 2022
- Close date
- Mar 31, 2022
- Est. award date
- Jul 1, 2022
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $19,200,000
- Implied average award
- $640,000 calculated
- Expected awards
- 30
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.530, not this notice): Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) FY 23 est Range: $160,000 - $9,134,864; Average: $2,152,956 FY 24 est Range: $160,000 - $10,560,000; Average: $2,152,956 FY25 est Range: $160,000 - $10,560,000; Average: $2,152,956 Teaching Health Center Planning and Development (THCPD) FY 23: Range: actual $489,198 - $500,000; Average: $498,175 FY 24: NA FY25: NA Teaching Health Center Planning and Development Technical Assistance (THCPA-TA) Cooperative Agreement FY 23: $4,700,000 FY 24: NA FY25: NA
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible applicants must meet all of the criteria listed in the NOFO in order to be considered eligible for THCGME funding. Applicants that fail to meet any eligibility criteria will not be considered for funding under this announcement.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The purpose of the THCGME Program is to support the training of residents in primary care residency training programs in community-based ambulatory patient care centers. Programs will prepare residents to provide high quality care, particularly in rural and underserved communities, and develop competencies to serve these diverse populations and communities. Two award types are available: 1. Expansion awards for an expanded number of resident Full-Time Equivalent (FTE) positions at existing HRSA THCGME Programs. 2. New awards to support new resident FTE positions at new Teaching Health Centers (THCs), as funding permits. New THCs are those applicants for residency programs that have never received payment under the HRSA THCGME Program for the applicable residency program in any previous fiscal year (FY). All applicants that meet eligibility criteria, including those that applied through the FY 2022 THCGME NOFO (HRSA-22-105), may apply through this announcement for resident FTE positions as the baseline requirements has been adjusted for consideration of funding under this NOFO have changed and applicants may be eligible to receive funding for additional resident FTEs. Applicants that did not receive an award under announcement HRSA-22-105 may also apply through this announcement. Refer to the Program Objectives (to hyperlink) section on page 2 for details. Awards made through this announcement may be utilized to support the costs associated with resident FTE training only. THCGME Program funds may not be used for residency program development (e.g., the costs associated with accreditation).
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.530
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Health Resources and Services Administration
KGordon@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program”?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $19,200,000 and the agency expects to make about 30 awards.
How do I apply for “Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-22-139), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $320K – $2.88M
- Est. close
- Sep 29, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $160K – $960K
- Est. close
- Nov 16, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 2 more
Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $32K – $28M
- Est. close
- Feb 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Leadership Education in Adolescent Health (LEAH)
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $400K – $459K
- Est. close
- Jan 20, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Others (see notice)
Rural Residency Planning and Development Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- Up to $750K
- Est. close
- Mar 18, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Nutrition Training Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $550K – $735K
- Est. close
- Jan 20, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Others (see notice)