Preventive Medicine Residency
Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Preventive Medicine Residency is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was November 21, 2022. Total estimated funding is $6.7M across about 16 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include native american tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.117 (Preventive Medicine Residency).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Sep 20, 2022Posted
- Nov 21, 2022Application deadline
- Posted
- Sep 20, 2022
- Close date
- Nov 21, 2022
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $6,700,000
- Implied average award
- $418,750 calculated
- Expected awards
- 16
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.117, not this notice): Range and Average of Financial Assistance: FY 2023 Range: $160,161 to $400,000; Average award: $368,218 FY 2024 Range: 152,111 to $395,694; Average Award: $362,759 FY 2025 Range est: $159,231 to $400,000; Average Award $367,537.68
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible applicants include: a. An accredited school of public health or school of medicine or osteopathic medicine; b. an accredited public or private nonprofit hospital; c. a state, local or tribal health department; or d. a consortium of two or more eligible entities as described in items, a, b, or c. PMR programs must be accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). An official letter from ACGME must be submitted to HRSA with the application to document the approved accreditation status of the program with the beginning and ending dates of the current accreditation. Accreditation documentation must be submitted as Attachment 1. Eligible applicants include public and private nonprofit entities. Faith-based and community-based organizations, Tribes, and tribal organizations are eligible to apply if they meet the eligibility requirements specified in items a through d.
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Preventive Medicine Residency (PMR) Program. For more details, see Program Requirements and Expectations. The purpose of this program is to increase the number, quality, and diversity of preventive medicine residents and physicians to support access to preventive medicine and to integrate population health with primary care to improve the health of communities.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.117
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Health Resources and Services Administration
PMRProgram@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Preventive Medicine Residency”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Preventive Medicine Residency”?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $6,700,000 and the agency expects to make about 16 awards.
How do I apply for “Preventive Medicine Residency”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-23-004), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Women's Initiative for Screening and Health (WISH)
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- Up to $1M
- Est. close
- Sep 20, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Rural Residency Planning and Development Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- Up to $750K
- Est. close
- Mar 18, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $320K – $2.88M
- Est. close
- Sep 29, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $160K – $960K
- Est. close
- Nov 16, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 2 more
Fiscal Year (FY) 2027 Service Area Competition (SAC)
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $650K – $10.1M
- Closes
- Oct 19, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 6 more
Fiscal Year (FY) 2027 Service Area Competition (SAC)
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $1.22M – $19.2M
- Est. close
- Dec 30, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 6 more