Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity HRSA-23-097

Health Center Program School-Based Service Expansion

Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Health Center Program School-Based Service Expansion is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was March 31, 2023. Total estimated funding is $25M across about 70 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.224 (Health Center Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Mar 1, 2023Posted
  2. Mar 31, 2023Application deadline
  3. Sep 1, 2023 (est.)Est. award date
Posted
Mar 1, 2023
Close date
Mar 31, 2023
Est. award date
Sep 1, 2023
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$25,000,000
Implied average award
$357,143 calculated
Expected awards
70
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.224, not this notice): Varies. See applicable Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO)

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Eligible applicants must: Be a Health Center Program award recipient9 with an active H80 grant award. Propose to operate a new school-based service site in your health centers current service area or currently operate a school-based service site, as evidenced by:o School Commitment Documentation signed by school or school district officials specifying support for each proposed new or existing school-based service site.o Form 5B: Service Sites indicates school site setting for each proposed new or existing school-based service site. Propose new and/or expanded services at one or more school-based service sites. If you do not already provide mental health services at each proposed school-based service site, you must propose to expand mental health services (in-person or virtual visit) at each proposed school-based service site.

Also named in the notice's eligibility text
  • Independent school districts
Matched from the wording above by GrantsJunction — confirm in the full announcement.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This notice announces the opportunity for current Health Center Program award recipients to apply for funding under the FY 2023 Health Center Program School-Based Service Expansion (SBSE). The purpose of SBSE funding is to expand access to primary health care services, including mental health services, through Health Center Program award recipients’ new and/or existing service delivery sites located at or on the grounds of schools.1 For the purpose of this NOFO, such sites are referred to as school-based service sites.
Health centers can use SBSE funding to establish their first school-based service site. Health centers may also choose to expand mental health and other primary health care services by adding a new school-based service site to their Health Center Program scope of project, expanding services at an existing school-based service site, or both.
For more details, see Program Requirements and Expectations.

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.224

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$5.4B
FY25$5.41B
FY26$5.34B est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.224. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Health Resources and Services Administration
BPHCfunding@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Health Center Program School-Based Service Expansion”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Health Center Program School-Based Service Expansion”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $25,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 70 awards.

How do I apply for “Health Center Program School-Based Service Expansion”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-23-097), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

Closes in 10 daysALN 93.224

Fiscal Year (FY) 2027 Service Area Competition (SAC)

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$650K – $10.1M
Closes
Oct 19, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 6 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.224

Fiscal Year (FY) 2027 Service Area Competition (SAC)

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$1.22M – $19.2M
Est. close
Dec 30, 2026 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 6 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.224

Fiscal Year (FY) Service Area Competition (SAC)

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$398K – $22M
Est. close
Dec 30, 2026 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 6 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.224

Fiscal Year (FY) 2027 Service Area Competition (SAC)

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$650K – $1.5M
Est. close
Jan 8, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 5 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.224

Fiscal Year (FY) 2027 Service Area Competition (SAC)

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$567K – $15.3M
Est. close
Jan 8, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 6 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.912

Rural Health Network Development Program

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$300K – $500K
Est. close
Mar 16, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today