Geriatrics Workforce Enhancement Program
Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Geriatrics Workforce Enhancement Program is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was February 26, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $1M, with about 43 awards expected and $43M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include federally recognized tribal governments, native american tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.969 (PPHF Geriatric Education Centers).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Nov 27, 2023Posted
- Feb 26, 2024Application deadline
- Posted
- Nov 27, 2023
- Close date
- Feb 26, 2024
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $1,000,000
- Est. total funding
- $43,000,000
- Expected awards
- 43
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
The following domestic entities are eligible applicants: Schools of Allopathic Medicine Schools of Osteopathic Medicine Schools of Nursing Schools of Allied Health Schools of Pharmacy Schools of Dentistry Schools of Public Health Schools of Optometry Schools of Chiropractic Schools of Veterinary Medicine Schools of Podiatric Medicine Physician Assistant Education Programs The following accredited graduate programs are also eligible applicants: Health Administration Behavioral Health and Mental Health Practice including: o Clinical Psychology o Clinical Social Work o Professional Counseling o Marriage and Family Therapy Additional eligible applicants include: o a health care facility o a program leading to certification as a certified nurse assistant, o a partnership of a school of nursing and health care facility, or o a partnership of a program leading to certification as a certified nurse assistant, and a health care facility. Community-based organizations, Tribes, and Tribal organizations may apply if otherwise eligible. All eligible applicants must be accredited. In Attachment 7 the applicant organization must provide: a statement that they hold continuing accreditation from the relevant accrediting body and are not under probation, and the dates of initial accreditation and next accrediting body review. The full letter of accreditation is not required. If a partner institution holds the accreditation for the training program, a letter of agreement should be provided as well.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Geriatrics Workforce Enhancement Program (GWEP). The purpose of the GWEP is to educate and train the health care and supportive care workforces to care for older adults by collaborating with community partners. Applicants must maximize patient and family engagement to address care gaps and improve health outcomes for older adults by integrating geriatrics with primary care and other appropriate specialties using the Age-Friendly Health Systems Framework.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.969
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Health Resources and Services Administration
GWEP@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Geriatrics Workforce Enhancement Program”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Geriatrics Workforce Enhancement Program”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1m, total estimated program funding is $43,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 43 awards.
How do I apply for “Geriatrics Workforce Enhancement Program”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-24-018), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Health Workforce Research Center (HWRC)
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $450K – $900K
- Est. close
- Mar 9, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and 1 more
Claude D. Pepper Older Americans Independence Centers
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Sep 25, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Promoting Cancer Surveillance Workforce, Education, and Data Use
Centers for Disease Control - NCCDPHP- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Mar 8, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Regional Excellence for Access to Comprehensive Care for Hemophilia Networks (REACH Networks)
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $450K
- Est. close
- Dec 22, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Nutrition Training Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $550K – $735K
- Est. close
- Jan 20, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Others (see notice)
Fiscal Year (FY) 2027 State and Regional Primary Care Association (PCA) Cooperative Agreements
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $790K – $4.9M
- Est. close
- Jan 25, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 9 more