Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity HRSA-24-074

Medical Student Education Program

Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Medical Student Education Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was July 26, 2024. Total estimated funding is $11M across about 3 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.680 (Medical Student Education).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jun 26, 2024Posted
  2. Jul 26, 2024Application deadline
Posted
Jun 26, 2024
Close date
Jul 26, 2024
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$11,000,000
Implied average award
$3,666,667 calculated
Expected awards
3
Cost sharing
Required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.680, not this notice): FY 23 Actual Range: $1,750,000 to $4,000,000; Average Award: $2,875,000 FY 24 Actual Range: $3,864,055 to $4,000,000; Average Award: $3,973,078 FY25 Range est: $3,862,378.00 to $4,000,000; Average Award: $3,953,541.50

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The purpose of the Medical Student Education (MSE) Program is to provide support to public medical schools in the top quintile of states with a projected primary care physician shortage to expand or support education for medical students preparing to become physicians. This expansion can include funding for direct student supports which help students be successful in medical school, as well as for infrastructure development, maintenance, equipment, and minor renovations or alterations. The program is designed to prepare and encourage medical students in these schools to choose residencies and careers in primary care and serve tribal, rural, and/or medically underserved communities in those states after they complete their residency.

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.680

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$59.6M
FY25$59.6M
FY26$60M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.680. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Health Resources and Services Administration
MSENOFO@HRSA.GOV
301-443-7432

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Medical Student Education Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Medical Student Education Program”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $11,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 3 awards.

How do I apply for “Medical Student Education Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-24-074), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 93.746

Rural Residency Planning and Development Program

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
Up to $750K
Est. close
Mar 18, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedResearchALN 93.157

Centers of Excellence (COE)

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$1 – $686K
Est. close
Feb 2, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities
Source: Grants.govVerified today