Nurse Education, Practice, Quality and Retention (NEPQR) - Workforce Expansion Program (WEP)
Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Nurse Education, Practice, Quality and Retention (NEPQR) - Workforce Expansion Program (WEP) is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was July 26, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $1M, with about 5 awards expected and $4.75M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities, federally recognized tribal governments, native american tribal organizations and private colleges & universities. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.359 (Nurse Education, Practice Quality and Retention Grants).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jun 14, 2024Posted
- Jul 26, 2024Application deadline
- Posted
- Jun 14, 2024
- Close date
- Jul 26, 2024
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $1,000,000
- Est. total funding
- $4,750,000
- Expected awards
- 5
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Native American tribal organizations
- Private colleges & universities
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The purpose of the Nurse Education, Practice, Quality, and Retention (NEPQR) - Workforce
Expansion Program (WEP) is to increase the nursing workforce in rural (non-metro) and
underserved areas to address the critical shortage of nurses, specifically in acute and long-term
care settings.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.359
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Health Resources and Services Administration
kkoyama@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1m, total estimated program funding is $4,750,000 and the agency expects to make about 5 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-24-098), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Health Workforce Research Center (HWRC)
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $450K – $900K
- Est. close
- Mar 9, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and 1 more
Promoting Cancer Surveillance Workforce, Education, and Data Use
Centers for Disease Control - NCCDPHP- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Mar 8, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Rural Residency Planning and Development Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- Up to $750K
- Est. close
- Mar 18, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Nutrition Training Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $550K – $735K
- Est. close
- Jan 20, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Others (see notice)
Fiscal Year (FY) 2027 State and Regional Primary Care Association (PCA) Cooperative Agreements
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $790K – $4.9M
- Est. close
- Jan 25, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 9 more
Rural Health Network Development Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $300K – $500K
- Est. close
- Mar 16, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more