Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was Jan 24, 2025)Opportunity HRSA-25-038

Rural Health Care Services Outreach Program

Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Rural Health Care Services Outreach Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was January 27, 2025. Total estimated funding is $13M across about 50 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 8 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.912 (Rural Healthcare Services Programs).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Dec 5, 2024Posted
  2. Jan 27, 2025Application deadline
Posted
Dec 5, 2024
Close date
Jan 27, 2025
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$13,000,000
Implied average award
$260,000 calculated
Original deadline (extended)
Jan 24, 2025
Expected awards
50
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.912, not this notice): Delta Reg Com Health Syst Dev $10,000,000 RH Netwrk Dev Prog $281,227-300,000 (Avr 298,870) Delta States Rural Dev Netwrk Prog $622,644-1,188,684 (1,100,004) Small HC Prov Qual Improv Prog $35,000-200,000 (190,690) RH Netwrk Dev Plan Prog $91,355-100,000 (99,318) RH Care Serv Outreach Prog $195,992-250,000 (212,120) RCORP- Behav HC TA $10,000,000 Rural Matern and Obst Mgmt Strat Prog $797,526-1,000,000 (933,298) RH Care Coord Prog $296,089-300,000 (299,548) RCORP -Neonatal Abst Syndr $237,970-500,000 (484,933) RCORP -Psychostimulant Supp 0-$500,000 Rural Behav Health Workf Ctrs-Northern Border Reg $1,000,000 Delta Reg RH Workf Train Prog $550,000-600,000 (560,000) Rural Northern Border Reg HC Supp Prog $1,800,000 RCORP -Med Assisted Treat Access $539,626-1,000,000 (935,035) RCORP -Behav HC Supp 0-$500,000 RH Clinic-Behav HC Supp $500,000 RCORP -Overdose Resp 0-$300,000 Rural Publ Health Workf Train Netwrk TA Prog $990,900 Delta Health Syst Implem Prog $404,000 RCORP -Child & Adol Behav Health $928,752-1,000,000 (999,711) RCORP -Impact $550,000-750,000 (734,611) RCORP -Pathways 0-$400,000 Delta Reg Matern Care Coord Prog $449,989-450,000 (449,998) Rural Northern Border Reg Outreach Prog $167,334-250,000 (3,118,348) Appalachian Reg HC Support Prog $1,500,000 Rural Publ Health Workf Train Netwrk Prog $547,302-1,545,000 (1,477,808) Rural PACE Plan and Dev $500,000

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

All domestic* public or private, non-profit, and for-profit entities are eligible to apply. Types of eligible organizations This includes entities such as non-profits with a 501(c)(3) and non-profits with an IRS status other than a 501(c)(3). Other eligible entities may include but are not limited to: Public and private institutions of higher education State and county health departments Hospitals, including rural emergency hospitals Native American tribal government and organizations Community-based organization Federally qualified health centers Rural health clinics Tribal exception: HRSA is aware that tribes and tribal organizations may not meet the Employer Identification Number (EIN) or Unique Entity Identifier (UEI) requirement of this NOFO. As a result, tribes and tribal organizations that only have one EIN or UEI or are unable to demonstrate that the network is composed of at least three unique entities, may request a tribal exception. Applicants must request a tribal EIN exception in Attachment 14: Tribal EIN exception request. * Domestic means the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau. Individuals are not eligible applicants under this NOFO.

Also named in the notice's eligibility text
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
Matched from the wording above by GrantsJunction — confirm in the full announcement.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This community-based grant program aims to support organizations to promote rural health care services outreach by improving and expanding the delivery of health care services to include new and enhanced services in rural areas.
To achieve this purpose, the program also aims to strengthen local resources and capacity in rural communities. Through collaborative consortiums that include three or more health care providers, each community can develop innovative approaches to solve their own unique challenges and factors underlying rural health disparities.

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.912

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$48M
FY25$48.8M
FY26$48.8M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.912. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.912

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 1,565 grant awards had funding actions under Rural Healthcare Services Programs, with 375 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. RURAL HEALTH RESOURCE CENTER$20.1M
  2. JBS INTERNATIONAL, INC.$19.4M
  3. CUSTOMER VALUE PARTNERS, LLC$10M
  4. MARY HITCHCOCK MEMORIAL HOSPITAL$5.45M
  5. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH DAKOTA$5.07M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Health Resources and Services Administration
RuralOutreachProgram@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Rural Health Care Services Outreach Program”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Private colleges & universities, For-profit organizations (not small businesses), Small businesses and 1 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Rural Health Care Services Outreach Program”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $13,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 50 awards.

How do I apply for “Rural Health Care Services Outreach Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-25-038), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 93.912

Rural Health Network Development Program

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$300K – $500K
Est. close
Mar 16, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.912

Rural Health Network Development Planning Program

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
Up to $100K
Est. close
Mar 23, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 9 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.746

Rural Residency Planning and Development Program

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
Up to $750K
Est. close
Mar 18, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.692

Rural Health Value Program

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
Up to $650K
Est. close
Mar 20, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.690

Rural Communities Opioid Response Program - Evaluation

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$5M
Est. close
Mar 23, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today