Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity HRSA-25-040

Black Lung Clinics Program

Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Black Lung Clinics Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was February 11, 2025. Total estimated funding is $12M across about 15 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 9 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.965 (Coal Miners Respiratory Impairment Treatment Clinics and Services).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Dec 12, 2024Posted
  2. Feb 11, 2025Application deadline
Posted
Dec 12, 2024
Close date
Feb 11, 2025
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$12,000,000
Implied average award
$800,000 calculated
Expected awards
15
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.965, not this notice): BLCP (FY 2023): Range of awards: $342,614 - $2,162,010 Average award: $785,227 BLDRC (FY 2023): Range of award: $125,000. Average award: $125,000 BLCP & BLDRC combined (FY 2023): Range of awards: $125,000 - $2,262,010 Average award: $455,114

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

These types of domestic* organizations may apply: Public institutions of higher education. Private institutions of higher education. Nonprofits with or without a 501(c)(3) IRS status. For-profit organizations, including small businesses. State, county, city, township, and special district governments, including the District of Columbia, domestic territories, and the freely associated states. This includes state health departments. Independent school districts. Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC), community health centers, Rural Health Clinics (RHCs) and hospitals, including Rural Emergency Hospitals Native American tribal governments Native American tribal organizations Applicant organizations that are federally recognized tribes or tribal organizations are eligible to apply if conducting all proposed activities within federally recognized tribal areas. Documentation of federally recognized tribal status must be included for this consideration provided in [attachment 1]. Individuals are not eligible applicants under this NOFO. * Domestic means the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Black Lung Clinic Program’s primary goal is to reduce the morbidity and mortality associated with occupation related coal mine dust lung disease (CMDLD), also known as black lung disease, by providing:
•Medical services.
•Outreach services.
•Educational services.
•Benefits counseling services.
All recipients are required to provide certain services to coal miners in their service area. We also provide additional requirements to the minimum required services, to make sure that the quality and breadth of services coal miners receive is sustained in all service areas.

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.965

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$11.9M
FY25$11.9M
FY26$12.3M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.965. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Health Resources and Services Administration
BlackLung@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Black Lung Clinics Program”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities, For-profit organizations (not small businesses) and 2 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Black Lung Clinics Program”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $12,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 15 awards.

How do I apply for “Black Lung Clinics Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-25-040), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 93.912

Rural Health Network Development Program

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$300K – $500K
Est. close
Mar 16, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.619

Appalachian Region Healthcare Support Program

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Est. close
Mar 27, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.260

Infertility Training Center

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
Award range
Up to $1.5M
Est. close
Aug 15, 2025 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today