Graduate Psychology Education Program (GPE)
Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Graduate Psychology Education Program (GPE) is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was January 21, 2025. Total estimated funding is $22.8M across about 50 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 4 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.191 (Graduate Psychology Education).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Oct 22, 2024Posted
- Jan 21, 2025Application deadline
- Posted
- Oct 22, 2024
- Close date
- Jan 21, 2025
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $22,800,000
- Expected awards
- 50
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Native American tribal organizations
- Private colleges & universities
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
You can apply if you are an accredited doctoral, internship, and/or post-doctoral residency program of health service psychology (including clinical psychology, counseling, and school psychology). Your training program must be accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency, approved for such purposes by the U.S. Department of Education.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The purpose of this program is to train doctoral health service psychology students, interns, and postdoctoral residents in integrated, interdisciplinary behavioral health, with significant focus on trauma-informed care and substance use disorder prevention and treatment services.
The program will prepare trainees for practice in community-based primary care settings in high need and high demand areas. To support trainees, the program will also focus on developing health service psychology faculty.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.191
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Health Resources and Services Administration
GPE25@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Graduate Psychology Education Program (GPE)”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Graduate Psychology Education Program (GPE)”?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $22,800,000 and the agency expects to make about 50 awards.
How do I apply for “Graduate Psychology Education Program (GPE)”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-25-067), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $32K – $28M
- Est. close
- Feb 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Research Enhancement Award Program (REAP) for Health Professional Schools and Graduate Schools (R15 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $375K
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2028
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice)
Leadership Education in Adolescent Health (LEAH)
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $400K – $459K
- Est. close
- Jan 20, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Others (see notice)
Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Nutrition Training Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $550K – $735K
- Est. close
- Jan 20, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Others (see notice)
Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $320K – $2.88M
- Est. close
- Sep 29, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $160K – $960K
- Est. close
- Nov 16, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 2 more