Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenResearch announcementOpportunity HT942526BCRPBTA122

DoW Breast Cancer, Breakthrough Award Levels 1 and 2

Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA · Department of Defense

At a glance

DoW Breast Cancer, Breakthrough Award Levels 1 and 2 is an open federal grant opportunity from the Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA (Department of Defense). Applications are due November 18, 2026. Total estimated funding is $10.6M across about 6 awards. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 12.420 (Military Medical Research and Development).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 3, 2026Posted
  2. Nov 18, 2026Application deadlinenext date
  3. Sep 30, 2027 (est.)Est. award date
  4. Dec 18, 2026Archived
Posted
Sep 3, 2026
Close date
Nov 18, 2026
Archive date
Dec 18, 2026
Est. award date
Sep 30, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$10,600,000
Implied average award
$1,766,667 calculated
Expected awards
6
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 12.420, not this notice): This Assistance Listing supports approximately 30 or more programs each year. Overall, awards are expected to range from $100,000 to $20M (consortium) depending on the funding priorities, anticipated number of awards, and project activity/scope within each program for an award period, on average, of 3 to 4 years. The maximum award amount, if any, is specified in each Program Announcement or Broad Agency Announcement.

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted (any entity type)

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

Summary: The fiscal year 2026 (FY26) Breast Cancer Research Program (BCRP) Breakthrough Award mechanism supports promising research with high potential to lead to or make breakthroughs in breast cancer. All applications must address at least one of the FY26 BCRP overarching challenges or provide adequate justification for exception. Applications must address the challenge in a way that can lead to a breakthrough and have major impact. The FY26 Breakthrough Award mechanism contains four different funding levels designed to support major (but not all) stages of research that will lead to clinical application. Each level specifies a distinct research scope. This program announcement discusses the Breakthrough Award Levels 1 and 2.

Distinctive Features:

* This funding mechanism allows for applications submitted under Funding Level 1 or Funding Level 2. Funding Level 2 also includes a Population Science Studies option. With compelling justification, population science studies may request higher levels of funding and an additional year in the period of performance.

* This funding mechanism allows for a single Principal Investigator (PI), or two partnering PIs referred to as the Initiating PI and the Partnering PI. For the Partnering PI Option (PPIO), only the Initiating PI will submit a pre-application, but both PIs will need to submit at the full application stage. Be advised, failure to submit all associated (Initiating and Partnering PI) applications by the deadline may result in administrative withdrawal.

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 12.420

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$1.48B
FY25$1.2B
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 12.420. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Danielle Reckley Grantor
help@eBRAP.org
301-619-1139

Quick answers

When is the deadline for “DoW Breast Cancer, Breakthrough Award Levels 1 and 2”?

According to the official notice, applications are due November 18, 2026. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for “DoW Breast Cancer, Breakthrough Award Levels 1 and 2”?

The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.

How much funding is available through “DoW Breast Cancer, Breakthrough Award Levels 1 and 2”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $10,600,000 and the agency expects to make about 6 awards.

How do I apply for “DoW Breast Cancer, Breakthrough Award Levels 1 and 2”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HT942526BCRPBTA122), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenResearchALN 12.420

DoW Vision, Investigator-Initiated Research Award

Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
Nov 12, 2026
Who can apply
Unrestricted (any entity type)
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenResearchALN 12.420

DoW Rare Cancers Idea Development Award

Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
Nov 18, 2026
Who can apply
Unrestricted (any entity type)
Source: Grants.govVerified today