Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedResearch announcementOpportunity HT942526PRMRPCTA

DoW Peer Reviewed Medical, Clinical Trial Award

Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA · Department of Defense

At a glance

DoW Peer Reviewed Medical, Clinical Trial Award is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA (Department of Defense). The application deadline was September 22, 2026. Total estimated funding is $94.5M across about 9 awards. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 12.420 (Military Medical Research and Development).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. May 8, 2026Posted
  2. Sep 22, 2026Application deadline
  3. Oct 22, 2026Archivednext date
Posted
May 8, 2026
Close date
Sep 22, 2026
Archive date
Oct 22, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$94,500,000
Implied average award
$10,500,000 calculated
Expected awards
9
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant, Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 12.420, not this notice): This Assistance Listing supports approximately 30 or more programs each year. Overall, awards are expected to range from $100,000 to $20M (consortium) depending on the funding priorities, anticipated number of awards, and project activity/scope within each program for an award period, on average, of 3 to 4 years. The maximum award amount, if any, is specified in each Program Announcement or Broad Agency Announcement.

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted (any entity type)

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

Summary: The fiscal year 2026 (FY26) Peer Reviewed Medical Research Program (PRMRP) Clinical Trial Award supports the rapid implementation of clinical trials with the potential to have significant impact on the treatment and management of a disease or condition addressed in one of the congressionally directed FY26 PRMRP topic areas and FY26 PRMRP strategic goals.

Distinctive Features: Must support a clinical trial. Supports two different application categories, based on the phase of planning for the clinical trial: Clinical Trial Only or Clinical Trial with Planning Phase. The Clinical Trial with Planning Phase option is intended to support the final phase of regulatory activities and planning activities that are necessary to be completed prior to initiation of the clinical trial. The planning phase cannot be used to finalize the intervention or support animal studies. Applications that already have regulatory approvals in place and are submitting to the Clinical Trial Only option may be prioritized over those requesting the Planning Phase option. Animal studies are not supported. Studies must complete all preclinical empirical laboratory work prior to the award start date.

Supports three funding levels, each offered with and without a Planning Phase:

Funding Level 1: Supports phase 0 or phase 1 clinical trials or non-phased trials with fewer than 100 participants.

Funding Level 2: Supports phase 2 clinical trials or non-phased trials with fewer than 300 participants.

Funding Level 3: Supports phase 3 clinical trials or non-phased trials with more than 300 participants.

Funding Details: The Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs (CDMRP) expects to allot roughly $94.5M to fund approximately 9 Clinical Trial Award applications with total cost caps of $800,000 for the planning phase of a Clinical Trial with Planning Phase, $6M for Funding Level 1, $10M for Funding Level 2, and $20M for Funding Level 3 per award. The maximum period of performance is 4 years for the clinical trial, and 12 months for the planning phase. It is anticipated that awards made from this FY26 funding opportunity will be funded with FY26 funds, which will expire for use on September 30, 2032. Awards supported with FY26 funds will be made no later than September 30, 2027.

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 12.420

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$1.48B
FY25$1.2B
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 12.420. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 12.420

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 6,147 grant awards had funding actions under Military Medical Research and Development, with 2,218 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. THE HENRY M. JACKSON FOUNDATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF MILITARY MEDICINE, INC.$139M
  2. THE UNIVERISTY OF TEXAS M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER$118M
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE$81.8M
  4. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$72.4M
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES$62.2M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Christopher L Baker Grants Officer
help@eBRAP.org
3016192332

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “DoW Peer Reviewed Medical, Clinical Trial Award”?

The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.

How much funding is available through “DoW Peer Reviewed Medical, Clinical Trial Award”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $94,500,000 and the agency expects to make about 9 awards.

How do I apply for “DoW Peer Reviewed Medical, Clinical Trial Award”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HT942526PRMRPCTA), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

Closes in 12 daysResearchALN 12.420

DoW Military Burn, Patient-Centered Research Award

Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
Oct 21, 2026
Who can apply
Unrestricted (any entity type)
Source: Grants.govVerified today
Closes in 13 daysResearchALN 12.420

DoW Autism Clinical Trial Award

Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
Oct 22, 2026
Who can apply
Unrestricted (any entity type)
Source: Grants.govVerified today