Forest Inventory and Management Plan - NSF Indian Head Maryland
At a glance
Forest Inventory and Management Plan - NSF Indian Head Maryland is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Department of Defense. The application deadline was September 17, 2009. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 12.300 (Basic and Applied Scientific Research).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Aug 19, 2009Posted
- Sep 17, 2009Application deadline
- Posted
- Aug 19, 2009
- Close date
- Sep 17, 2009
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- 1
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 12.300, not this notice): Mean=$431,532; Median=$174,704
Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The primary objective of this Agreement is to conduct a timber inventory at NSFIH and SN to estimate volume and growth over desired rotation periods for future timber harvests, the overall forest health (noting areas of invasive species, disease, herbaceous cover, deer browse, regeneration, etc), and areas in need of timber stand improvements (TSI). A 10-year management plan is to be developed from data gathered during the timber inventory. The management plan will provide a harvest and/or TSI schedule for both NSFIH and SN based on desired rotation periods. Harvest methods are to be geared toward forest sustainability and ecosystem management. The management plan is to incorporate conservation measures related to bald eagles, forest interior dwelling (FID) bird species, forest bats, wetlands, streams and other natural resources areas of concern to meet ecosystem management goals. The 10-year management plan would also address the terms and conditions of the USFWS bald eagle biological opinion (BO) as related to forestry activities within bald eagle nest protection zones. The BO requires NSFIH to update the NSFIH forestry management plan to reflect the terms and conditions of the BO. The BO prohibits forest harvests within the 750 ft bald eagle nest protection zones and limits harvests within the ¼ mile protection zones. All data collected shall be captured with GPS units.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 12.300
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Department of Defense
denise.wilson1@navy.mil
703-696-0368
Places named in the notice
Derived from the notice text. A place being named does not by itself restrict eligibility.
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Forest Inventory and Management Plan - NSF Indian Head Maryland”?
The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.
How do I apply for “Forest Inventory and Management Plan - NSF Indian Head Maryland”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity N4008009LTC0003), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Naval Engineering Education Consortium (NEEC) Broad Agency Announcement for Fiscal Year 2026
NSWC Dahlgren- Award range
- $100K – $450K
- Est. close
- Not yet set
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities
NRL Long Range Broad Agency Announcement (BAA) for Basic and Applied Research
Naval Research Laboratory- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Dec 30, 2026
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
Fiscal Year (FY) 2027 Department of the Navy (DoN) Historically Black Colleges and Universities/Minority Institutions (HBCU/MI) Program
Office of Naval Research- Award range
- $450K – $525K
- Closes
- Dec 11, 2026
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Special Program Announcement for Office of Naval Research Research Opportunity: FY27 Communications and Networking Applied Research
Office of Naval Research- Award range
- $250K – $500K
- Closes
- Nov 16, 2026
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
FY25 Long Range Broad Agency Announcement (BAA) for Navy and Marine Corps Science and Technology
Office of Naval Research- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Dec 31, 2026
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Fiscal Year (FY) 2027 Department of War (DoW) Defense University Research Instrumentation Program (DURIP)
Office of Naval Research- Award range
- $50K – $3M
- Closes
- Nov 6, 2026
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)