NIJ FY17 Sexual Assault Forensic Evidence - Inventory, Tracking, and Reporting Program (SAFE-ITR)
At a glance
NIJ FY17 Sexual Assault Forensic Evidence - Inventory, Tracking, and Reporting Program (SAFE-ITR) is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institute of Justice (Department of Justice). The application deadline was April 28, 2017. Individual awards are listed as up to $3.6M, with about 5 awards expected and $3.6M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, federally recognized tribal governments and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.741 (DNA Backlog Reduction Program).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Mar 13, 2017Posted
- Apr 28, 2017Application deadline
- Posted
- Mar 13, 2017
- Close date
- Apr 28, 2017
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $3,600,000
- Est. total funding
- $3,600,000
- Expected awards
- 5
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible applicants are States, units of local government, and federally recognized Indian tribal governments (as determined by the Secretary of the Interior) that collect, store, maintain, and/or send forensic DNA evidence to an existing and accredited crime laboratory that complies with the DNA Quality Assurance Standards and participates in the National DNA Index System (NDIS).
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The program will fund States, units of local government, and tribal governments to implement an evidence management program to inventory, track, and report untested and unsubmitted sexual assault kits (SAKs). From the time an evidence SAK is collected to the time it leaves the laboratory and the case receives final disposition in court, the status and location of the SAK will be known.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 16.741
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Federally recognized tribal governments and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $3.6m, total estimated program funding is $3,600,000 and the agency expects to make about 5 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity NIJ-2017-11605), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
NIJ FY 2026 Research and Evaluation on School Safety
National Institute of Justice- Award range
- Up to $5M
- Closes
- Nov 23, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
NIJ FY 2026 Evaluation of the Effectiveness of the Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) Byrne State Crisis Intervention Program (SCIP)
National Institute of Justice- Award range
- Up to $5.94M
- Closes
- Nov 16, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more
Mgt, Species, Pollinators, Western Bumble bee Joint Base Elmendorf- Richardson, Alaska
Department of Defense- Award range
- $103K – $309K
- Est. close
- Jul 15, 2023 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Science and Technology Centers: Integrative Partnerships
U.S. National Science Foundation- Award range
- $1.5M – $6M
- Closes
- See notice
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Law & Science (LS)
U.S. National Science Foundation- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Sep 30, 2076
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
RESTORE Act Centers of Excellence Research Grants Program
U.S. Dept. of Treasury RESTORE Act Program- Award range
- $5.71M – $14.5M
- Closes
- Oct 31, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments