Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was Aug 12, 2019)Opportunity NIJ-2019-16109

Evaluation of Street Law Programs, FY 2019

National Institute of Justice · Department of Justice

At a glance

Evaluation of Street Law Programs, FY 2019 is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institute of Justice (Department of Justice). The application deadline was August 19, 2019. Individual awards are listed as up to $750K, with about 1 award expected and $750K in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, public colleges & universities and 6 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.560 (National Institute of Justice Research, Evaluation, and Development Project Grants).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jun 12, 2019Posted
  2. Aug 19, 2019Application deadline
Posted
Jun 12, 2019
Close date
Aug 19, 2019
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$750,000
Est. total funding
$750,000
Original deadline (extended)
Aug 12, 2019
Expected awards
1
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

See announcement for full eligibility information.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

With this solicitation, the National Institute of Justice seeks proposals to conduct a single evaluation project that measures the effectiveness of two programs administered by Street Law, Inc (Street Law). With financial support from the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP), Street Law will implement the Legal Life Skills program and the Police & Teens program over a two year period. These programs provide training to adult volunteers and professionals to deliver educational programs for youth that are designed to build young people's knowledge and understanding of the law in order to advance civic responsibility, accountability, problem solving, and community participation. Applicants should propose rigorous evaluation projects that measure the effectiveness of these two programs and provide useful information to practitioners and policy makers regarding the utility and implementation of these programs.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.560

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$57.8M
FY25$3.18M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.560. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 16.560

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 399 grant awards had funding actions under National Institute of Justice Research, Evaluation, and Development Project Grants, with 130 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. THE CNA CORPORATION$14.9M
  2. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE$14.8M
  3. THE URBAN INSTITUTE$2.95M
  4. MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY$2M
  5. NATIONAL POLICING INSTITUTE$2M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institute of Justice
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-616-5314

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Evaluation of Street Law Programs, FY 2019”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities, For-profit organizations (not small businesses) and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Evaluation of Street Law Programs, FY 2019”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $750k, total estimated program funding is $750,000 and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.

How do I apply for “Evaluation of Street Law Programs, FY 2019”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity NIJ-2019-16109), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenResearchALN 16.560
Award range
Up to $5M
Closes
Nov 23, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenDeadline extendedResearchALN 47.075

Law & Science (LS)

U.S. National Science Foundation
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
Sep 30, 2076
Who can apply
Unrestricted (any entity type)
Source: Grants.govVerified today