Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity NIJ-2020-17326

Research and Evaluations of Victims of Crime, Fiscal Year 2020

National Institute of Justice · Department of Justice

At a glance

Research and Evaluations of Victims of Crime, Fiscal Year 2020 is a closed federal grant opportunity from the National Institute of Justice (Department of Justice). The application deadline was April 20, 2020. Individual awards are listed as up to $4M, with about 8 awards expected and $4M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, public colleges & universities and 6 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.560 (National Institute of Justice Research, Evaluation, and Development Project Grants).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Feb 20, 2020Posted
  2. Apr 20, 2020Application deadline
Posted
Feb 20, 2020
Close date
Apr 20, 2020
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$4,000,000
Est. total funding
$4,000,000
Expected awards
8
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

See announcement for full eligibility information.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

In collaboration with OVC, NIJ seeks proposals for formative evaluations, evaluability assessments, and/or evaluations of victims of crime service programs. NIJ is interested in evaluations of different types of victim services including, but not limited to, programs embedded in hospitals/trauma centers; umbrella/network organizations; one-stop victim services programs; and/or programs embedded in criminal justice agencies.

NIJ recognizes that many victim services programs may not be ready to support rigorous outcome evaluations, and as such, a phased approach is needed. Applicants should plan to conduct a formative evaluation, as well as, an evaluability assessment to determine whether an outcome evaluation of the program or model is possible. Applicants should consider the diverse array of victim service programs.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.560

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$57.8M
FY25$3.18M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.560. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institute of Justice
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-616-5314

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Research and Evaluations of Victims of Crime, Fiscal Year 2020”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities, For-profit organizations (not small businesses) and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Research and Evaluations of Victims of Crime, Fiscal Year 2020”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $4m, total estimated program funding is $4,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 8 awards.

How do I apply for “Research and Evaluations of Victims of Crime, Fiscal Year 2020”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity NIJ-2020-17326), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenResearchALN 47.041

Research in the Formation of Engineers

U.S. National Science Foundation
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
See notice
Who can apply
Unrestricted (any entity type)
Source: Grants.govVerified today