Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2025-172495

BJA FY25 Rural Law Enforcement Violent Crime Reduction Initiative

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY25 Rural Law Enforcement Violent Crime Reduction Initiative is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was May 27, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $400K. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, federally recognized tribal governments and 1 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.039 (Rural Violent Crime Initiative).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Apr 15, 2026Posted
  2. May 27, 2026Application deadline
Posted
Apr 15, 2026
Close date
May 27, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$400,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Units of local government

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This funding opportunity seeks to support local law enforcement in rural jurisdictions to prevent, respond to, and reduce violent crime. The goal is to equip rural law enforcement agencies and prosecutors’ offices with the resources necessary to implement a violent crime reduction strategy to solve a specific violent crime challenge.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.039

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$7.39M
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.039. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 16.039

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 30 grant awards had funding actions under Rural Violent Crime Initiative, with 4 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. NATIONAL POLICING INSTITUTE$4.41M
  2. JUSTICE AND SECURITY STRATEGIES, INC.$1.4M
  3. SAUK COUNTY$300K
  4. CITY OF PASSAIC$300K
  5. CITY OF LONG BEACH$300K
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResourceCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY25 Rural Law Enforcement Violent Crime Reduction Initiative”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Federally recognized tribal governments and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY25 Rural Law Enforcement Violent Crime Reduction Initiative”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $400k.

How do I apply for “BJA FY25 Rural Law Enforcement Violent Crime Reduction Initiative”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2025-172495), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.039
Award range
Up to $2.64M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday
OpenALN 16.036
Award range
Up to $750K
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday