Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2025-172500

BJA FY25 Second Chance Act Pay for Success Initiative

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY25 Second Chance Act Pay for Success Initiative is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was April 27, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $12.5M. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, federally recognized tribal governments and 2 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.812 (Second Chance Act Reentry Initiative).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Mar 19, 2026Posted
  2. Apr 27, 2026Application deadline
Posted
Mar 19, 2026
Close date
Apr 27, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$12,500,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other units of local government

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This NOFO supports the use of performance-based and outcomes-based contracting to implement or enhance programs and services to reduce recidivism, including to address housing needs of individuals leaving incarceration. Contracts may be newly created, expanded, or transitioned from direct payment to performance-based and outcomes-based and must serve individuals leaving incarceration with the goal of reducing recidivism and supporting long-term reentry success.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.812

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$51.3M
FY25$35.4M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.812. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY25 Second Chance Act Pay for Success Initiative”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY25 Second Chance Act Pay for Success Initiative”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $12.5m.

How do I apply for “BJA FY25 Second Chance Act Pay for Success Initiative”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2025-172500), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.812

OJJDP FY 2026 Second Chance Act Youth Reentry Program

Office of Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention
Award range
Up to $750K
Closes
Nov 2, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today