Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was May 4, 2026)Opportunity O-BJA-2025-172506

BJA FY25 Investigating and Prosecuting Sexual Assaults in Confinement Facilities Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY25 Investigating and Prosecuting Sexual Assaults in Confinement Facilities Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was May 8, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $2M. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, federally recognized tribal governments, native american tribal organizations and 1 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.735 (PREA Program: Strategic Support for PREA Implementation).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Mar 26, 2026Posted
  2. May 8, 2026Application deadline
Posted
Mar 26, 2026
Close date
May 8, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$2,000,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Original deadline (extended)
May 4, 2026
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

State and local prosecuting agencies, Other units of local government, Publicly Funded Law enforcement Agencies

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This NOFO supports state, local, and tribal efforts to enhance their capacity to investigate and prosecute incidents of sexual assault in confinement facilities. State agencies, law enforcement, and prosecutorial agencies may utilize this funding for investigative and prosecutorial activities to decrease incidents of sexual assault in confinement facilities and increase the rate of successful prosecutions of such cases.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.735

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$7.39M
FY25$2.87M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.735. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY25 Investigating and Prosecuting Sexual Assaults in Confinement Facilities Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY25 Investigating and Prosecuting Sexual Assaults in Confinement Facilities Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $2m.

How do I apply for “BJA FY25 Investigating and Prosecuting Sexual Assaults in Confinement Facilities Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2025-172506), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.036
Award range
Up to $750K
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $4M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today