Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2026-172674

BJA FY26 Investigating and Prosecuting Sexual Assaults in Confinement Facilities Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY26 Investigating and Prosecuting Sexual Assaults in Confinement Facilities Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was September 23, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $2M. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, federally recognized tribal governments, native american tribal organizations and 1 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.735 (PREA Program: Strategic Support for PREA Implementation).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Aug 13, 2026Posted
  2. Sep 23, 2026Application deadline
Posted
Aug 13, 2026
Close date
Sep 23, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$2,000,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

For the purposes of this NOFO, “state and local prosecuting agencies” include state, county, and municipal government offices that are authorized to prosecute criminal offenses on behalf of the government; For the purposes of this NOFO, “other units of local government” include towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general purpose political subdivisions of a state; For the purposes of this NOFO, “publicly funded law enforcement agencies” are law enforcement agencies funded by States, federally recognized Tribes, or units of local government.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY 2026 Investigating and Prosecuting Sexual Assaults in Confinement Facilities Program. This opportunity supports state, local, and tribal efforts to enhance their capacity to investigate and prosecute incidents of sexual assault in confinement facilities. State agencies, law enforcement, and prosecutorial agencies may utilize this funding for investigative and prosecutorial activities to decrease incidents of sexual assault in confinement facilities and increase the rate of successful prosecutions in such cases.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.735

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$7.39M
FY25$2.87M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.735. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY26 Investigating and Prosecuting Sexual Assaults in Confinement Facilities Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY26 Investigating and Prosecuting Sexual Assaults in Confinement Facilities Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $2m.

How do I apply for “BJA FY26 Investigating and Prosecuting Sexual Assaults in Confinement Facilities Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2026-172674), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.036
Award range
Up to $750K
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $4M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today