Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJS-2025-172573

BJS FY25 National Prison Rape Statistics Program (NPRSP) Assessment

Bureau of Justice Statistics · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJS FY25 National Prison Rape Statistics Program (NPRSP) Assessment is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Statistics (Department of Justice). The application deadline was May 4, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $500K, with about 1 award expected and $500K in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, private colleges & universities, for-profit organizations (not small businesses) and 1 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.739 (National Prison Rape Statistics Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Mar 30, 2026Posted
  2. May 4, 2026Application deadline
Posted
Mar 30, 2026
Close date
May 4, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$500,000
Est. total funding
$500,000
Expected awards
1
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

In the 20 years since PREA was passed, BJS has established a robust set of surveys of administrative records and with persons who are in custody in prisons, jails, and juvenile justice facilities. This funding will include an assessment of BJS’s current program, consultation with stakeholders, and the development of recommendations on how to improve the utility of BJS’s collections in the future while minimizing burden on data providers. The findings of the assessment will inform potential methodological changes to sampling, method of data collection, and dissemination efforts.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.739

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24—
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.739. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Statistics
AskBJS@usdoj.gov
0000000000

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJS FY25 National Prison Rape Statistics Program (NPRSP) Assessment”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities, For-profit organizations (not small businesses) and Small businesses. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJS FY25 National Prison Rape Statistics Program (NPRSP) Assessment”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $500k, total estimated program funding is $500,000 and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.

How do I apply for “BJS FY25 National Prison Rape Statistics Program (NPRSP) Assessment”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJS-2025-172573), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 93.103
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Dec 1, 2022 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, Special district governments and 10 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today