Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedResearch announcementOpportunity O-NIJ-2021-97002

Research to Reduce Trauma for Child Pornography Victims, Fiscal Year 2021

National Institute of Justice · Department of Justice

At a glance

Research to Reduce Trauma for Child Pornography Victims, Fiscal Year 2021 is a closed federal grant opportunity from the National Institute of Justice (Department of Justice). The application deadline was June 3, 2021. Individual awards are listed as up to $1.5M, with about 1 award expected and $1.5M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities, private colleges & universities and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.560 (National Institute of Justice Research, Evaluation, and Development Project Grants).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Apr 26, 2021Posted
  2. Jun 3, 2021Application deadline
Posted
Apr 26, 2021
Close date
Jun 3, 2021
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$1,500,000
Est. total funding
$1,500,000
Expected awards
1
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • Private colleges & universities
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Foreign colleges and universities are not eligible to apply. To advance Executive Order 13929 Safe Policing for Safe Communities, as of October 28, 2020, the Attorney General determined that all state, local, and university or college law enforcement agencies must be certified by an approved independent credentialing body or have started the certification process to be allocated FY 2021 DOJ discretionary grant funding, as either a recipient or a subrecipient. For detailed information on this new certification requirement, please visit https://cops.usdoj.gov/SafePolicingEO. All recipients and subrecipients (including any for-profit organization) must forgo any profit or management fee.

Also named in the notice's eligibility text
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
Matched from the wording above by GrantsJunction — confirm in the full announcement.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Department of Justice is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights, increases access to justice, supports crime victims, protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community

With this solicitation, NIJ requests proposals from accredited research universities for rigorous scientific research to identify best practices to reduce the trauma of children affected by child pornography investigations.

Applications proposing research involving partnerships with criminal justice or other agencies, should include a strong letter of support, signed by an appropriate decision-making authority from each proposed, partnering agency. A letter of support should include the partnering agency’s acknowledgement that de-identified data derived from, provided to, or obtained through this project will be archived by the grant recipient with the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) at the conclusion of the award. Applicants and their potential partners are encouraged to review the NACJD’s policies and protections at (NACJD). If selected for an award, grantees will be expected to have a formal agreement in place with partnering agencies by January 1, 2022. That formal agreement must include a provision to meet the data archiving requirements of the award.

In the case of partnerships that will involve the use of federal award funds by multiple partnering agencies to carry out the proposed project, only one entity/partnering agency may be the applicant (as is the case with any application submitted in response to this solicitation); any others must be proposed as subrecipients.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.560

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$57.8M
FY25$3.18M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.560. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 16.560

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 399 grant awards had funding actions under National Institute of Justice Research, Evaluation, and Development Project Grants, with 130 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. THE CNA CORPORATION$14.9M
  2. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE$14.8M
  3. THE URBAN INSTITUTE$2.95M
  4. MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY$2M
  5. NATIONAL POLICING INSTITUTE$2M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institute of Justice
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-616-5314

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Research to Reduce Trauma for Child Pornography Victims, Fiscal Year 2021”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Research to Reduce Trauma for Child Pornography Victims, Fiscal Year 2021”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1.5m, total estimated program funding is $1,500,000 and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.

How do I apply for “Research to Reduce Trauma for Child Pornography Victims, Fiscal Year 2021”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-NIJ-2021-97002), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenResearchALN 16.560
Award range
Up to $5M
Closes
Nov 23, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday
OpenResearchALN 12.420

DoW Orthopaedic, Clinical Research Award

Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
Nov 18, 2026
Who can apply
Unrestricted (any entity type)
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday
OpenResearchALN 47.041

Research in the Formation of Engineers

U.S. National Science Foundation
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
See notice
Who can apply
Unrestricted (any entity type)
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday