Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-NIJ-2022-171379

NIJ FY 2022 Invited to Apply - Criminal Justice Requirements and Resources Consortium

National Institute of Justice · Department of Justice

At a glance

NIJ FY 2022 Invited to Apply - Criminal Justice Requirements and Resources Consortium is a closed federal grant opportunity from the National Institute of Justice (Department of Justice). The application deadline was July 1, 2022. Individual awards are listed as up to $1.25M, with about 2 awards expected and $1.55M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.560 (National Institute of Justice Research, Evaluation, and Development Project Grants).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jun 24, 2022Posted
  2. Jul 1, 2022Application deadline
Posted
Jun 24, 2022
Close date
Jul 1, 2022
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$1,250,000
Est. total funding
$1,550,000
Expected awards
2
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Continuation

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Only the applicants that received an official invitation letter from NIJ are able and eligible to apply. Please refer to that letter for the eligibility requirements To advance Executive Order 13929 Safe Policing for Safe Communities, the Attorney General determined that all state, local, and university or college law enforcement agencies must be certified by an approved independent credentialing body or have started the certification process to be eligible for FY 2022 DOJ discretionary grant funding. To become certified, the law enforcement agency must meet two mandatory conditions: (1) the agency’s use-of-force policies adhere to all applicable federal, state, and local laws and (2) the agency’s use-of-force policies prohibit chokeholds except in situations where use of deadly force is allowed by law. The certification requirement also applies to law enforcement agencies receiving DOJ discretionary grant funding through a subaward. For detailed information on this certification requirement, please visit https://cops.usdoj.gov/SafePolicingEO to access the Standards for Certification on Safe Policing for Safe Communities, the Implementation Fact Sheet, and the List of Designated Independent Credentialing Bodies. All recipients and subrecipients (including any for-profit organization) must forgo any profit or management fee.

Also named in the notice's eligibility text
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
Matched from the wording above by GrantsJunction — confirm in the full announcement.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The purpose of the National Institute of Justice (NIJ) Research, Evaluation, and Development Project Grants program is to encourage and support research, development, and evaluation to improve criminal justice policy and practice in the United States. With this solicitation, NIJ seeks proposals to identify and assess the highest priority needs of criminal justice communities in order to enhance innovative criminal justice research and inform practitioners, policymakers, industry providers, and federal agencies, as well as NIJ, of those needs and their potential solutions. Innovation also comes from within these criminal justice agencies, therefore NIJ is looking to continue supporting programs such as Law Enforcement Advancing Data and Science (LEADS), an NIJ program designed to increase the in-house research capabilities of law enforcement officers and agencies.

Statutory Authority: Title I of the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968 (sections 201 and 202); the Homeland Security Act of 2002 (sections 231-233, 235); and 28 U.S.C. 530C.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.560

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$57.8M
FY25$3.18M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.560. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 16.560

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 399 grant awards had funding actions under National Institute of Justice Research, Evaluation, and Development Project Grants, with 130 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. THE CNA CORPORATION$14.9M
  2. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE$14.8M
  3. THE URBAN INSTITUTE$2.95M
  4. MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY$2M
  5. NATIONAL POLICING INSTITUTE$2M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institute of Justice
Steven.Schuetz@ojp.usdoj.gov
202-616-5314

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “NIJ FY 2022 Invited to Apply - Criminal Justice Requirements and Resources Consortium”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “NIJ FY 2022 Invited to Apply - Criminal Justice Requirements and Resources Consortium”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1.25m, total estimated program funding is $1,550,000 and the agency expects to make about 2 awards.

How do I apply for “NIJ FY 2022 Invited to Apply - Criminal Justice Requirements and Resources Consortium”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-NIJ-2022-171379), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenResearchALN 16.560
Award range
Up to $5M
Closes
Nov 23, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 12.800

STARBASE Wright Patt

Air Force -- Research Lab
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Not yet set
Who can apply
Independent school districts
Source: Grants.govVerified today