Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedResearch announcementOpportunity O-NIJ-2024-171963

NIJ FY24 Research and Evaluation on Violence Against Women

National Institute of Justice · Department of Justice

At a glance

NIJ FY24 Research and Evaluation on Violence Against Women is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institute of Justice (Department of Justice). The application deadline was April 17, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $2.3M, with about 5 awards expected and $2.3M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 11 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.560 (National Institute of Justice Research, Evaluation, and Development Project Grants).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Feb 1, 2024Posted
  2. Apr 17, 2024Application deadline
Posted
Feb 1, 2024
Close date
Apr 17, 2024
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$2,300,000
Est. total funding
$2,300,000
Expected awards
5
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • Individuals
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Units of local government, such as towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general purpose political subdivisions of a State.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ), Office of Justice Programs (OJP), National Institute of Justice (NIJ) is seeking applications for funding.

OJP is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights and equity, increases access to justice, supports crime victims and individuals impacted by the justice system, strengthens community safety and protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community.

With this solicitation, NIJ seeks applications for funding high-quality, rigorous, and inclusive1 evaluations focused on assessing programs, practices, models, or interventions aimed at (1) enhancing engagement with the justice system for women and girls who have been victimized and (2) improving accountability within the criminal justice system from individuals who engage in or perpetrate violence against women and girls (VAWGs).

This program furthers DOJ’s mission to uphold the rule of law, to keep our country safe, and to protect civil rights.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.560

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$57.8M
FY25$3.18M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.560. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institute of Justice
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-616-5314

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “NIJ FY24 Research and Evaluation on Violence Against Women”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 4 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “NIJ FY24 Research and Evaluation on Violence Against Women”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $2.3m, total estimated program funding is $2,300,000 and the agency expects to make about 5 awards.

How do I apply for “NIJ FY24 Research and Evaluation on Violence Against Women”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-NIJ-2024-171963), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenResearchALN 47.041

Research in the Formation of Engineers

U.S. National Science Foundation
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
See notice
Who can apply
Unrestricted (any entity type)
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenDeadline extendedResearchALN 12.431

LPS Qubit Collaboratory (LQC)

Dept of the Army -- Materiel Command
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
Apr 30, 2027
Who can apply
Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits and 5 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today