Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was May 20, 2024)Research announcementOpportunity O-NIJ-2024-172011

NIJ FY24 Research and Evaluation of Policing Practices

National Institute of Justice · Department of Justice

At a glance

NIJ FY24 Research and Evaluation of Policing Practices is a closed federal grant opportunity from the National Institute of Justice (Department of Justice). The application deadline was May 23, 2024. Individual awards are listed as up to $3.5M, with about 5 awards expected and $3.5M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.560 (National Institute of Justice Research, Evaluation, and Development Project Grants).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Mar 5, 2024Posted
  2. May 23, 2024Application deadline
Posted
Mar 5, 2024
Close date
May 23, 2024
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$3,500,000
Est. total funding
$3,500,000
Original deadline (extended)
May 20, 2024
Expected awards
5
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Units of local government

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

With this solicitation, NIJ seeks rigorous, applied evaluative research on: (1) police training; (2) police accountability policies and practices; (3) investigative practices to enhance clearance rates; and (4) police officer health and wellness programs.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.560

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$57.8M
FY25$3.18M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.560. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 16.560

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 399 grant awards had funding actions under National Institute of Justice Research, Evaluation, and Development Project Grants, with 130 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. THE CNA CORPORATION$14.9M
  2. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE$14.8M
  3. THE URBAN INSTITUTE$2.95M
  4. MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY$2M
  5. NATIONAL POLICING INSTITUTE$2M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institute of Justice
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-616-5314

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “NIJ FY24 Research and Evaluation of Policing Practices”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “NIJ FY24 Research and Evaluation of Policing Practices”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $3.5m, total estimated program funding is $3,500,000 and the agency expects to make about 5 awards.

How do I apply for “NIJ FY24 Research and Evaluation of Policing Practices”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-NIJ-2024-172011), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenResearchALN 16.560
Award range
Up to $5M
Closes
Nov 23, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenResearchALN 47.041

Research in the Formation of Engineers

U.S. National Science Foundation
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
See notice
Who can apply
Unrestricted (any entity type)
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenDeadline extendedResearchALN 12.431

LPS Qubit Collaboratory (LQC)

Dept of the Army -- Materiel Command
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
Apr 30, 2027
Who can apply
Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits and 5 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today