Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenResearch announcementOpportunity PAR-25-439

Community-Partnered Nursing Research Centers (P20 Clinical Trial Optional)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Community-Partnered Nursing Research Centers (P20 Clinical Trial Optional) is an open federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due May 7, 2028. Individual awards are listed as up to $500K. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.361 (Nursing Research).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 17, 2025Posted
  2. May 7, 2028Application deadlinenext date
  3. Apr 1, 2026 (est.)Est. award date
  4. Jun 12, 2028Archived
Posted
Sep 17, 2025
Close date
May 7, 2028
Archive date
Jun 12, 2028
Est. award date
Apr 1, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$500,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organization) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The purpose of this initiative is to support the development of innovative research centers to foster nursing-led programs that promote community-partnered research to address persistent health challenges. Center applications developed in response to this RFA should propose strategies to strengthen the research infrastructure by establishing or expanding centralized research resources in School or College of Nursing (SON/CON), developing and enhancing nurse-led interdisciplinary teams, and building expertise in community-partnered research through conducting pilot research that applies NINR's research lenses. Center strategies should be informed by NINRs mission and should meaningfully engage the community throughout all activities.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.361

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$154M
FY25$152M
FY26$156M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.361. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.361

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 855 grant awards had funding actions under Nursing Research, with 1,076 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE$28.8M
  2. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$25.9M
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK$17.5M
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN$13.8M
  5. EMORY UNIVERSITY$13.6M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institutes of Health
grantsinfo@nih.gov
301-402-2541

Quick answers

When is the deadline for “Community-Partnered Nursing Research Centers (P20 Clinical Trial Optional)”?

According to the official notice, applications are due May 7, 2028. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for “Community-Partnered Nursing Research Centers (P20 Clinical Trial Optional)”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Community-Partnered Nursing Research Centers (P20 Clinical Trial Optional)”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $500k.

How do I apply for “Community-Partnered Nursing Research Centers (P20 Clinical Trial Optional)”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-25-439), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.