Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenResearch announcementOpportunity PAR-25-449

Mind and Body Interventions to Restore Whole Person Health via Emotional Well-Being Mechanisms (R61/R33 Clinical Trial Required)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Mind and Body Interventions to Restore Whole Person Health via Emotional Well-Being Mechanisms (R61/R33 Clinical Trial Required) is an open federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due June 7, 2028. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.213 (Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 26, 2025Posted
  2. Jun 7, 2028Application deadlinenext date
  3. Jul 1, 2026 (est.)Est. award date
  4. Jul 13, 2028Archived
Posted
Sep 26, 2025
Close date
Jun 7, 2028
Archive date
Jul 13, 2028
Est. award date
Jul 1, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.213, not this notice): For Fiscal Years 2022 - 2023 (as of 7/20/2023), the total costs (which is the sum of the direct costs plus the facilities & administration costs) for competing grants ranged from a low of $28,500 to a high of $2,439,270. For this same time period, the average, total costs for competing grants varied based on "budget mechanism", as follows: Research Projects: $428,092 Cooperative Agreements: $1,115,156 Conference Grants: $36,180 Individual Fellowships: $45,712 Career Development: $35,992 Institutional Training: $419,354 Small Business (SBIR/STTR): $393,304

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) announces this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) to solicit applications for research on how mind and body interventions through psychological and/or physical inputs (e.g., mindfulness meditation, yoga, acupuncture, massage, and other brain and/or body based interventions) impact mechanisms of emotional well-being (EWB) and their associations with whole person health (WPH), consistent with the NIH priority to address the health needs of the American people and improve their well-being.
The NOFO will support rigorous and well-powered mechanistic research studies that are supported by strong preliminary data. The studies should examine the effects of mind and body interventions on innovative mechanisms of EWB (as the primary outcome), as well as the associated relationship with the Whole Person Health Index (WPHI, as a secondary outcome). To enhance research safety, rigor, and efficiency of NIH-funded mechanistic clinical trials, this initiative will use a two-phased award funding mechanism (R61/R33). The funding will support an initial phase (R61) to establish feasibility benchmarks for the proposed mechanistic clinical trial(s), followed by a second phase (R33) to complete the full-scale trials, which will be contingent upon successful completion of R61 milestones. Applications should provide preliminary data that are comparable in quality and quantity to those expected for an R01 proposal.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.213

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$240M
FY25$233M
FY26$2.66M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.213. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.213

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 773 grant awards had funding actions under Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health, with 654 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO$14.3M
  2. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION$12.3M
  3. YALE UNIV$11.6M
  4. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA IRVINE$9.18M
  5. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH$8.61M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institutes of Health
grantsinfo@nih.gov
301-402-2541

Quick answers

When is the deadline for this opportunity?

According to the official notice, applications are due June 7, 2028. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity PAR-25-449), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.